Best riding in Knysna and Franschhoeck?

Aron

I am a part time editor for a Swedish online MTB magazine and will be travelling the Western Cape with my family during October. Our vacation will be a family affair but I am hoping to get some MTB riding squeezed in. Time wise my best options are in Knysna and Franschhoeck.

So, I am turning to you guys in the hope that you can help me find some good MTB riding in these locations?

I am looking for technical singletrack. The bumpier the ride the better. IMHO fireroads are ok for longer climbs, but apart from that they are a complete turnoff. I will save the DH riding for another trip though.

Are there any good guides in the above locations that I could contact? I expect that the most fun would be to join a local group. But I am also open to hire a professional guide, provided I don't end up in a group of beginners on those pesky fireroads... :)

I brought my personal kit but will need to rent a bike so if you could suggest some good rentals I would be very grateful.

And should anyone ever want to do some MTB riding in Sweden, just give me a shout and I will show you Stockholms best trails. Or put you in contact with the right people if you are staying in another part of the country.

Contact these guys i'm sure they will be able help.

Knysna Cycle Works

Jacques Brink

Tel 027443825153

There is some world class single track in Welvanpas, about 35km from Franschhoek, wel laid out routes that is very enjoyable and the routes vary depending on your skill level. If you need more info feel free to pop into the Cycle Lab in Paarl and we will gladly assist you with this

You have to do the Harkerville red route while in Knysna.

Fron Franschhoek there are plenty of trails in close proximity. Jonkershoek,Welvanpas are probably the closest.

Let me know when you're in the area and I'll see if I can join. I'll start brushing up on my Swedish in the meantime.

Hi All,