Bike buy advice

parks11

Hi All. Newbie here! I have recently become enthused by the idea of cycling around, nothing serious, but I would like to get a bike to ride around on just down to the shops and to friends and family 1km or so away. I love the look of simple bicycles (like the Fujis etc) and looking to get myself an old school racing bike. I live in an apartment and would ideally like to keep the bicycle inside, so if it looks good thats a plus!

I really dont know much about bicycle maintenance. But, I found the following bicycle and thought over the next few months I can clean it up etc. Before I buy it though I would love some advice.

http://i.imgur.com/Ysn01xF.jpg?1

Is this a decent bicycle? Its got a pretty clasic shape which is good! It seems like it's in mediocure condition though and I was wondering how easy it would be to clean up etc? Can the frame just be scrubbed up? The seatpost seems a bit rusted too?

Im new to all this so would love some advice!

I have to burst your bubble a bit - That doesn't look like a classic Peugeot, merely an old one. It reminds me of the model below the Peugeot Rapport cira 1980.

If you plan to just bang about with the bike and pick it up for R100 I'd say cool, but if you are looking for a classic I'd say look some more.

I am not worried so much about classicness but more the classic look for a fairly low price. The bicycle shop is asking 1200 for the bike and I would imagine there is room to haggle there? Is it possible to respray a frame (say if I wanted to do it all white) on the cheap with a decent finish?

Realise my use of classic is a bit ambigious. Haha. I meerly mean it looks like an old school frame rather than all those chunkier looking carbon fibre jobs you see a lot :)