Bicycle touring in SA?

Tigershel

I'm a South African who's been out of the country for 18 years, and may be spending a few months there soon.

When I lived there, I had a bike, but never rode that much, and was never involved in any cycling club or formal rides, so effectively I'm a noob. :-)

I'm not sure where else to post this, so here goes.

Are there any forums, websites and so on that cater to bicycle touring in SA?

I've got a good self-contained touring setup right now that I've used for shorter tours in the US and SE Asia, based on a recumbent trike. However, the cost of flying the trike to SA round trip may be a little prohibitive. Are there any online dealers or places like eBay or Craigslist that would be recommended for picking up a new or used affordable touring setup (bike, rack/s, panniers)? I don't want anything fancy or expensive, just something reasonably comfortable and not too slow that can get me about 4000 km.

Is there any recommended mapping / routing system? I've used Google Maps and OSM in other countries, and the USA has the ACA with their long distance route maps and most states provide basic cycling maps and often online information.

Camping: are there any information sources for camping? I can stay on the road longer if I can come cut down on accommodation costs.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Tony

Guest DieBees

A mouth full.

Hope you get all the info. Im sure you have come to the right place.

I'm a South African who's been out of the country for 18 years, and may be spending a few months there soon.

When I lived there, I had a bike, but never rode that much, and was never involved in any cycling club or formal rides, so effectively I'm a noob. :-)

I'm not sure where else to post this, so here goes.

Are there any forums, websites and so on that cater to bicycle touring in SA?