Worst Cycling Purchase

MrJacques

My LBS phoned me yesterday to warn me about my new chinese carbon integrated stem and handlebar for my roadbike. Said they have seen a few break. Now I havnt used the product and all ready I am concerned - worst buy ever?

• Replies 511

Worst buys... These are mostly from 20 years ago

Vredestein tyres (forget which ones but they disintegrated after first ride)

Cork bartape

Wolber rims (we called them Wobblers) :D

Entry level Shimano SPDs

Entry level hardtail Schwinn

Entry level Kenda MTB tyres

Neon lycra

Cage pedals

Bar ends - all of them

Narrow MTB bars

Slime tubes for road

That's what I remember for now, I'msure there's more...

Nothing I regret in at least the last 10 years though :thumbup:

Worst...any GXP crank...mine was a truvativ noir.

Best...mini compressor for tubeless conversions.

Was there not a competition on Sat morning on the spruit with beer and tubeless??

nah, had one look outside and was moer wet and little rain so we called it off.

Maybe better that way as well....was hanging like a fruit bat from theboss

nah, had one look outside and was moer wet and little rain so we called it off.

Maybe better that way as well....was hanging like a fruit bat from theboss

Will it happen?

Think so, we must just wait for all this rain to pass....weekends are a bit of a hit and miss affair with the weather...I am a fair weather rider afterall.

Nothing I regret in at least the last 10 years though :thumbup:

I was wrong. There is one, sadly. :oops:

Ashima pistonless hydraulic disk brakes. I won't allow myself to even give them away. Don't want to be responsible for any deaths. I regret the few months that I put the wife's life at risk. If you okes think Elixirs are bad you ain't seen nothing :ph34r:

Think so, we must just wait for all this rain to pass....weekends are a bit of a hit and miss affair with the weather...I am a fair weather rider afterall.

Ja nee, ek weet.

My worst gift received was an awesome Nike Livestrong black cycling shirt, 2 or 3 months before LA got canned.

Feels really weird wearing it now after all the stuffs have come out about his doping.

Saw the pricetag of it too a few weeks after I got it, eish...

USN Epic pro.

Tasted like vomit.

Gave me shivers.

Also dont like Hammer Perpetuum, tastes like the smell when you cycle past rainbow chickens... wait, bucket... BUCKET! puuuuuke....

A set of these....

http://www.camposlorca.com/images/cubiertamtb-geax-saguaro-white.jpg

...and trying to run them tubeless. Used them for 10km in a 75km race and (multiple) punctured both tyres. Had to be casevac'ed by the sweeper vehicles. Binned the buggers when I got home.

Is this legal?