KZN Enduro #1 - Karkloof

Mar

• Replies 229

Hoozit

Heading down  on Thursday already to take in the beautiful  Midlands ,

Just checking if we can still ride on Friday morning tho  ?

Absolutely. All the KK trails will be open. Just keep an eye out for guys (Nige & Dave) who will be taping the tracks.  :thumbup:

And don't forget to get your day permit from the KK club BEFORE you head out onto the trails.

Hey,

Where do we park on Sat for the Enduro? At the KK club? I finish work at 12pm so i will be coming in HOT  :D but will be dressed so bike off and fly up to stage 1!

Ive never done anything like this so im super amped  :clap:

excited.com

Hey,

Where do we park on Sat for the Enduro? At the KK club? I finish work at 12pm so i will be coming in HOT  :D but will be dressed so bike off and fly up to stage 1!

excited.com

As I understand it registration and race briefing will be at the club, then go park at the loading zone (which is en route to the Lebanon climb) and ride from there...

Correct Nige/Dave?

You will have a jol, don't worry! :thumbup:

I might just give the DH race a go, is there any link to a vid for Karkloof DH perhaps? Can't find on YouTube.

So amped for enduro 1!!

I might just give the DH race a go, is there any link to a vid for Karkloof DH perhaps? Can't find on YouTube.

So amped for enduro 1!!

Do it, you wont regret it.

From what I remember its a really fun flowy track, apparently some rock gardens have been added.

I don't know of any recent videos.

Hey,

excited.com

RayJ - if you coming in hot you need to then make a plan and enter online ... then contact Dellah Paul from KZNMTB as you will miss registration on the day 

REGISTRATION IS FROM 8-10am on the SATURDAY at the Karkloof Club.

So you will need to get someone to register for you or something - I suggest you contact Dellah and make a plan.

As I understand it registration and race briefing will be at the club, then go park at the loading zone (which is en route to the Lebanon climb) and ride from there...

Correct Nige/Dave?

You will have a jol, don't worry! :thumbup:

YES - registration is at the Club from 8-10am ... 

Open practice is from 8 to 11

Riders Briefing is in the Satellite event base at the DH finish (7km away from the club) just before the start

Racing starts at 12:30

So amped for enduro 1!!

We havent had a chance to do a DH edit yet unfortunately.

The track is very beginner friendly. Some BIG jumps but all have B-lines 

There are 2 rock gardens ... One small, slow and tech with 3 line options 

and One LONG one - this is steepish, but there are easy lines that pick your way through it ... 

Otherwise the track is fun fast and flowy

DH - Unofficial practice all day Saturday.

Registration - Sunday AT THE CLUB! FROM 8-9AM!!!!

Official Practice with shuttles leaving from the bottom of the track is from 8:30 or so till 11.

Racing from 12

2 race runs - best to count.

Hey guys some mates want to come and watch the Enduro where will there be spectator points?

Yes there will - but they wont really be marked - 

The best for them to do is drive up the Demagtenburg road to where Stage 2 crosses the road - they can then walk down to the gauntlet from there.

Or park on the bottom road at the end of Stage 3 and walk up into Jewitts from there.

Guys there is a NO VEHICLE policy on Sappi plantation roads ... okes found on here will be severely dealt with as their actions will likely cause the event to be banned in future years. So please take this seriously.

I have attached a map with spectator car routes shown in red ...

Also a map of the club vs the trails and Satellite event base.

Green are race stages - Blue is rider access (no vehicles!)

post-16861-0-43586000-1423030132_thumb.jpg

post-16861-0-51464400-1423030150_thumb.jpg

Super_mil you said something about a braai, do you have details?

Friday evening, Saturday evening?

Lekker so you guys are pulling in!  :thumbup:

Since there will be a bunch of people camping at the club and the bar will be open, the plan is to have a braai on SATURDAY evening after the enduro event. 

IT IS NOT CATERED, so bring your own meat and salads (or whatever else you plan to eat) and there will be braais available at the club. Pub will be open as mentioned so please support the club by purchasing your beverage of choice from the pub.