How much is too much training

Dazshell

I am sure there must be a thread about this already but maybe someone can give a quick answer.

I've been riding for 2 years.  Finally getting down to what should be a sub-3.30 CTCT on my third attempt.   I'm now averaging 250 - 270kms a week, 3 x 40's in the week, 1 x 80-100 Sat and 1 x 50-70 Sun.  Rest days are Monday and Friday.  However the harder I train the more shattered my legs feel.  Am I really building strength with all this training?

Is this too much?  Should I be having a rest day on Wednesday too? 

I plan to keep going this hard until after Midmar-Notts on 22 Feb and then start tapering off until my bike leaves for CT on 4 March. 

With the tapering off, will my legs recover enough for the CTCT?

Such a broad topic with so many "it depends"...  But a quick and simplified answer is:  Establish your resting heart rate.  If it's slightly elevated ie 5 beats higher or so from the previous days training, no problem train again.  If it's highly elevated ie 10 beats plus, then you need to recover.  Note:  This is just a rough guideline as each individual will vary.

I have also been wondering the same thing about over training.

My schedule looks pretty much the same as yours so I know what you mean when you say your legs are shattered and you wonder if you are actually building any strength....

I have heard about the heart rate elevation which is a good indication to get some rest.

Whats your diet like? Nutrition while training is very important. Your body takes plenty strain and uses a lot of resources. Your immune system can also get low. Its important to replace what you've used.

That is my short fall unfortunately.......... Diet does not exist!

Bearly enough time to cycle yet alone to prepare meals for everyday. :(

It depends on how hard ur ridings are.

not only distance is important but also intensity is very important;)

I have a powermeter it showes me what kind of riding i do :)