[Event] Nissan Trailseeker #4 Meer & Dal

WesselvdWalt

Marathon was a challenging route, werent joking about the 1800m or so climb.

Single track and general route was solid as expected.

Waterpoints where fully load even with a few dougnuts :ph34r:

Congestion was bad once routes combined although most of the halfies did they very best to jump out of the way as quickly as they could.

still dont see how organizers can combine routes like this. Mustv been interesting up front :whistling:

• Replies 62

I think this was well run , saw some people jump ahead by not following the route in the early stages in Meerendal.

Keeping routes separate should be key when it comes to single track though because front running marathon guys are much quicker than B and C halfies so this could be cause for frustration.

Thanks decent water bottle it's a refreshing change from the cheap crap ones everyone else hands out, this one can actually be used.

Awesome event guys! Well done to all the organisers. Refreshment stations were a feast:-). Does any1 know the name/make of those tasty jellies they had at the refreshment stations? It was rather yummy. I wish the route (the sections not covered under the tygerberg routes)can be open to the public. Nice circular training route.

I enjoyed parts of this race, the route was tough and rewarding. But it reminded me of the first trailseeker in Helderberg, where it all went wrong from an organisational point of view. This time around the Marathon guys got routed into the backend of the fun 10k riders and the 30k riders in Meerendal / Contermans. I witnessed Moms and children falling, being bashed and shouted at to move out of the way of faster riders, and to make matters more complicated this was all happening on the tight singletrack sections. Also saw a few 30k riders rolling down the side of the Contermans hills while struggling to uncleat and move out of the way.

It goes without saying that keeping all the routes separate is very important. It is such a rookie mistake to make when hosting a race, and you would expect a lot more from the organisers. Hopefully they will take note and improve on next years event. 

A well organised and enjoyable event in most regards, but mixing the marathon with the fun ride and 40km routes is not acceptable from an organiser with this many events under their belt. It simply isn't fair on the novice riders or the hot and tired marathon racers.

I enjoyed the half, really enjoyed the descent into contermans! Even catching some of the long route guys that didn't appreciate it!  :whistling: and then when we turned upwards i struggled. I pulled over probably 50 times for marathon guys coming through.

Now this really makes me angry, if i blatantly pull of the track to let you through without even breaking your rhythm is it too much of you to say thank you. Not once did a faster rider from behind even had to ask me to pull over.

If Jennie Stenerhag, Darren Lill, Candice Neethling can say thank you and even give an encouraging word to a fatty enjoying his ride more than you, why can't you.

Next time don't be surprised if i don't pull over!  :ph34r:

I enjoyed the half, really enjoyed the descent into contermans! Even catching some of the long route guys that didn't appreciate it!  :whistling: and then when we turned upwards i struggled. I pulled over probably 50 times for marathon guys coming through.

Now this really makes me angry, if i blatantly pull of the track to let you through without even breaking your rhythm is it too much of you to say thank you. Not once did a faster rider from behind even had to ask me to pull over.

If Jennie Stenerhag, Darren Lill, Candice Neethling can say thank you and even give an encouraging word to a fatty enjoying his ride more than you, why can't you.

Next time don't be surprised if i don't pull over!  :ph34r:

Hey Boet, it was lekker riding with you.

I am soooo miffed I missed the Conties section. I was about 50 or so meters behind you, but got a big-ass front tyre blowout just past the Signal Gun water point on that very rocky descent. Luckily I did not come off, as I was clocked doing about 51kph going down there according to my Strava and bike computer.

Thanks to Steve, a fellow Tygerberg MTB Club member for the helping hand and bomb. Unfortunately I had to walk to the top of the ST at Conties where I was assisted by the kind gentleman who offered myself and Albert, another fellow in distress a ride to the bottom on his bakkie.

On another note, I was absolutely blown away by how the pro's just beasted that Signal Gun climb. Inspiring stuff. To see Nico Pfitzenmaier come past me like I was standing still.... :blush:

Hey Boet, it was lekker riding with you.

I am soooo miffed I missed the Conties section. I was about 50 or so meters behind you, but got a big-ass front tyre blowout just past the Signal Gun water point on that very rocky descent. Luckily I did not come off, as I was clocked doing about 51kph going down there according to my Strava and bike computer.

Thanks to Steve, a fellow Tygerberg MTB Club member for the helping hand and bomb. Unfortunately I had to walk to the top of the ST at Conties where I was assisted by the kind gentleman who offered myself and Albert, another fellow in distress a ride to the bottom on his bakkie.

On another note, I was absolutely blown away by how the pro's just beasted that Signal Gun climb. Inspiring stuff. To see Nico Pfitzenmaier come past me like I was standing still.... :blush:

Ja nice too meet you too! Sorry to hear about your mishap! Those rocks were very sharp on the way down and i remember thinking i must not cut a side wall...

also kudos on goodie bag 

2 packets montagu nuts and trials mix 

trailseeker socks 

USN bottle 

:thumbup:

+1.  Big ups to Advendurance and whoever else organised the goodie bag!

Also, for the one time I stopped at a water point, I was impressed with what was on offer. Well done organisers.

Dates to next year's series would be cool.

i have done two event this year and would like to plan to do all of them next year

its on their facebook

Dates to next year's series would be cool.

i have done two event this year and would like to plan to do all of them next year

7 may (no location yet), 25 june (grabouw), 08 october (hermanus), 12 november (meerendal)