Eselfontein: Singletrack Heaven in the Farmlands of Ceres

oh and I have 'kuiered' with this particular farm owner. It started at midnight as we were about to go to bed and finished at 4 a.m. (I think)

Ja, Deon is good like that! Better be able to handle your Brandy and Cokes!

• Replies 50

One in Cederberg 28-30 Sept and one on Eselfontein 2 weeks later -11-13 Sept. Would be great to have you along.

Are you looking at the same calendar as me?! 

28-30 August, or 28-30 September?

Are you looking at the same calendar as me?! 

28-30 August, or 28-30 September?

Sorry corrected it. Cederberg 28-30 Aug, Eselfontein  11-13 Sept

rode there two years ago, got lost... assuming they've upped the signage or i'm just dumb

I respectfully disagree. I'm half dutchman and the only requirement for a 'kuier' is alcohol.

Ek ook boet! Kom ons se 'n braai is goeie begin aan 'n lekker kuier! Geniet jou tyd by Eselfontein!

Haha! I am a 'rooinek' so you'll have to forgive me on the definition ;)

Hey at least you got it mostly right! [emoji13] For me a kuier always starts with a braai but it definitely includes the consumption of plenty well made alcohol preferably beer!

Do you have to wear baggie pant to ride that trail now days ?

Last time we did it was in lycra with uncovered knees and it seemed okay

Suppose it all depend on how you tackle the obstacles, does look a bit weird Lycra with kneepads?

Personally speaking, my knees are made if cheese (multiple meniscus tears on one knee and ligament damage on both knees) so I take as much precaution as I can. If I come off (and chances are I will at some point) I don't want my knees to resemble grated cheese.

Plus with modern knee guards, some of them you hardly notice when wearing them, even when pedalling up...

I say knee pads on all rides.

• 3 months later...