How to buy a bicycle

Tsolo76

How do I know which bike to buy?

I have recently started cycling as a new hobby and I have already owned and got rid of 2 bikes in one month. I bought my first bike same day I joined bikehub.co.za. My first one was Merida big 7 TFS 100, it didn't feel comfortable so I swapped for Momsen AL129 which I later sold.

I'm 1.68m tall, weigh 70kg.

What are the steps I should know when I buy a mountain bike? I'm short but I don't want a 26" mountain bike. My budget is R5000

we the same height and weight. I comfortably ride a Spez Epic Comp, Medium Frame 29er. You don't say what kind of riding you wish to do but browze around the classifieds for a medium 29er Hardtail. I must say a R5k budget will limit the range you can look at it but I'm sure you will find something.

1.68m is at times inbetween a small and a medium, so you could easily find a small that can suit you.

Look at cyclefactory.co.za to give you an idea of the prices of bikes.

Welcome to the hub and happy cycling

Walk into a bike shop and talk to a salesperson. Mention your budget and the type of cycling you wish to do. Test every bicycle within that bracket and price range. Make note of the bicycles that fit your requirements, then go home. 

Do a internet search for reviews and tick those from your list that is lekker.

Back to the bike shop, test ride again those from your shortened list.

If there is more than one that takes your fancy start asking people that partake in cycling (sommer on here) and you will probably get a indication which one to get.

Then go and buy your bike.

O ja, don't worry about name brands/ image is nothing/  ride to enjoy the ride.

If you buy a bike from a bike shop as per the very good advice mentioned above, ask them to assist you with fitment and they'll adjust the bike to fit you to maximise riding comfort and enjoyment.

we the same height and weight. I comfortably ride a Spez Epic Comp, Medium Frame 29er. You don't say what kind of riding you wish to do but browze around the classifieds for a medium 29er Hardtail. I must say a R5k budget will limit the range you can look at it but I'm sure you will find something.

1.68m is at times inbetween a small and a medium, so you could easily find a small that can suit you.

Look at cyclefactory.co.za to give you an idea of the prices of bikes.

Welcome to the hub and happy cycling

Thanks I will be doing trail, I noticed that 5K is really not enough so I will keep it until I add more money. Someone is selling Giant revel 0 2015 med size for 5K, is it a good bike?

Walk into a bike shop and talk to a salesperson. Mention your budget and the type of cycling you wish to do. Test every bicycle within that bracket and price range. Make note of the bicycles that fit your requirements, then go home. 

Do a internet search for reviews and tick those from your list that is lekker.

Back to the bike shop, test ride again those from your shortened list.

If there is more than one that takes your fancy start asking people that partake in cycling (sommer on here) and you will probably get a indication which one to get.

Then go and buy your bike.

O ja, don't worry about name brands/ image is nothing/  ride to enjoy the ride.

Will they allow me to test their bikes when I'm not buying?

If you buy a bike from a bike shop as per the very good advice mentioned above, ask them to assist you with fitment and they'll adjust the bike to fit you to maximise riding comfort and enjoyment.

I'm planning to buy a second hand

Will they allow me to test their bikes when I'm not buying?

Be honest about your intentions, people may surprise you. 

(Above statement is relevant to the Western Cape.... :devil: )

Thanks I will be doing trail, I noticed that 5K is really not enough so I will keep it until I add more money. Someone is selling Giant revel 0 2015 med size for 5K, is it a good bike?

Hey, Don't know anything about Giant, but I'm pretty sure it is a decent bike, Giant don't make crap bikes. The key is what the other okes have stressed, see if you can get a spin on it. That is the best way.

nothing wrong with Giant revel 0 bike IMHO. It is a bit heavy but who cares about the weight? cycling is about the mileage you accumulate  :whistling:

I am 1.71m and weigh 70kg. I ride a Giant Talon 1 29er and I really like it. Also bought it for R4900 last year and its holding up nicely. My girlfriend has a Revel 3 29er and she also really likes it. And as afar as I know the Revel 0 is the better version! I'd say go for it.