Desert Dash

Pulse

Those that try, but fail, are better off than those who don't

Or something

Also, I'm nervous as poo. I was planning on a 100km this weekend and was broken after 60. The wind we've had the last few months at the coast is not something I want to face in Stage 6

• Replies 606

After a quick google search that ischial bursitis doesn't look like a lekker thing to have... How's the ankle doing Patch?

Shame man, doesn't sound like fun.

Ankle is not great, starting physio next week. As long as I only need to pedal, I should make it. If I need to walk, I'm stuffed.

Been building up with longer rides 4hr+ on weekends but hasn't helped that I was man-down with a stomach virus over the weekend. Hoping it clears soon as I want to try and push a few 6-7hr training rides over the next couple of weeks.

Like I said, nothing long at all and nothing that would indicate I can finish this but will give it my best shot.

I plan on doing a 6hr+ ride on Sunday and 2 next weekend. The first weekend in November will be my last "big" mileage weekend with 8hrs+ on Saturday and Sunday each and then the last 2 weekends in November will be 5hr rides each day on Saturday and Sunday. Then a week and a half of taking things easy(ier) till I fly up on the 7th. Well, that is the plan anyway!

Sounds like a plan! ????

Do you still commute to work?

Hi,

Quick question for those who have done this before.

I just booked my flight to Windhoek and SAA Airlink say you dont need to pay extra for the bike.

What is their policy on this?

Hi Patch

I've never paid extra for my bike. Weight limit is 23kg for the packed bike.

Certain smaller planes have a limit of 2 bikes per plane, but don't think it would be applicable. You can check your flight number on the link below to confirm.

https://www.flysaa.com/za/en/flyingSAA/baggage/sportingEquipment.html

Check your bike in as per other baggage.

The solo's, on the bike nutrition(gels and drinks) share some of your advice please. Been using Epic pro, but the mixing is an issue.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The solo's, on the bike nutrition(gels and drinks) share some of your advice please. Been using Epic pro, but the mixing is an issue.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What I currently do (which I'm not completely happy with, but has worked for up to 15hrs).

Water in camelback (start with it empty, and fill after stage 1).

Energade/powerade in bottles, refill with whatever is available at the stations.

Eat Racefood bars on the bike.

Eat whatever I can at the stations.

I take Dex4 tabs with me on the bike, in case I bomb out badly and need a sugar rush, but don't use it often.

I try and get some Pepto pro in with whatever drink I have, but once that stuff gets warm I just can't get it in.

I generally can't stomach any of these USN/Biogen/etc bars.

Ideally I would want some form of tabs I can add to a bottle that contains sugar, but it seams all of them are only electrolytes.

Would love to hear everyone else's plans

I use Biogen Cyto-pro RS Marathon for the long rides and it works for me.

The plan is:

1 frozen bottle of Biogen Race mix to checkpoint one. I will fill it with water at CP1.

Another bottle filled with water.

1 frozen 3 litre camelback with RS marathon which should last me up to CP 3. 

From the start I plan on carrying 6 Biogen gels and 4 Racefood bars to last me to CP 3.

At CP 3 I want to ditch the camelback and go on 2 bottles per stage - one with RS marathon and one with water. I will fill up as needed at the waterpoints.

I will try and get some pasta down at CP 3, but that will be a battle.

Just a note: I always make the mix a little weaker than recommended as the sweetness starts getting too much after a while.

Ludi, wat ookal jy Saterdag gebruik het sal werk, herhaal net X2...

Question, will it help to wear 2 bib shorts over each other to be more gentle on your bum??

Eish.  I don't know. 

Sounds like a recipe for things to bundle up where you don't want them to bundle up.