26er or 650b trail/enduro bike on a budget

Xanderstander

Howzit everyone. So I'm selling my 29er xc bike, and I'm looking to explore some more gravity inspired riding. In an ideal world, I would get myself a lekker 650b, 140+mm travel bike, but my wallet isn't too happy with me, so I'm quite struggling on finding one that I can afford. 

There are some lekker 26ers around which I should be able to afford, like a 2014 reign x1 and a 2012/2013 26er stumpy.. I'm sure 26ers would still be a lot of fun, but havn't really been on one in ages, so can't really remember what they are like. My other worry is that if I buy a 26er, I'm might struggle to get it sold in about 3 years time, since it seems like people are already shying away from buying 26ers..

So does anyone have any advice? Should I go bikeless for a while and save up for a second hand 650b bike like a trance or stumpy? Or should I go for a 26er and just make peace with that I'm going to struggle to get it sold down the line (or am I wrong to expect that it might be a mission to get it sold?)

• Replies 90

Im also thinking 26er might at some point become harder to sell and by that I mean to get it sold you will have to make price low enough. I currently have a 2011 trek remedy 26" and it is worth way more to me than I will get thus not selling it.  

I also have a 2015 fuel ex 27.5. now not sure what of the many difference between it and remedy is biggest factor but the fuel (120mm) feels for most part  just as capable as the remedy (150mm), could be the bigger wheels, could be the newer suspension design, could as it is more the right size could be etc etc. 

As long as the DH bike was still on 26 i felt it will be ok but now that they all on 27.5 i believe 26er days are number. The good products follow market trend thus meaning in few years you might not get nice 26 tires anymore. Some say there will be. 

I would say keep looking for 650b within your budget  or close too. Even if the spec is not that great now you can upgrade specs as money allow. Given it is new area for you, you going to learn wat works for you what dont. 

my 2c

I still really enjoy riding my 26" stumpy, sometimes the transition patrol just has to wait at home while stumpy goes out jolling :)

Bought my stumpy for a very good price and spent the exact same as the bike price on upgrading it to my level of acceptance. All in still a darn good bike for R16k'ish

Sent from my Nokia 6310i

Ignore the wheelsize and just get the best bike you can get for your budget.

26" tyres are still going to be available for a good few years and many years after that. Actually 8yrs from now 26er will be the next big thing, all the advantages of smaller wheels will suddenly seem like the most amazing thing on the planet and so the cycle will continue.

So maybe buy the mythical and amazing 26er now before everybody finds out about the secret, they normally sell for around half their true value. Get a fully kitted Santa Cruz for R15-R20k or a Santa Cruz dream machine for R30k.

Ignore the wheelsize and just get the best bike you can get for your budget.

26" tyres are still going to be available for a good few years and many years after that. Actually 8yrs from now 26er will be the next big thing, all the advantages of smaller wheels will suddenly seem like the most amazing thing on the planet and so the cycle will continue.

So maybe buy the mythical and amazing 26er now before everybody finds out about the secret, they normally sell for around half their true value. Get a fully kitted Santa Cruz for R15-R20k or a Santa Cruz dream machine for R30k.

We do not call it by its name..... it will only be known as THE MACHINE!!!

That is a dream bike  :drool:

Rode my 26" Cotic 140mm last weekend with all of the mates, can climb reasonably well decends like a demon. Only place I battled and they were all on 29ers was on gravel and farm roads. Big wheels seem to make the gravel easy to ride. But as I said to them if I want to ride gravel I will bring the CX bike next time.

If you already have 26 stop worrying about all the marketing bull and get out and ride. Bike shops that tell you they don't carry tyres etc are just feeling the monster. Good tyres easy to get from the right shops! See you on the trail

Yup that's a beast of a bike ... but I'm looking for R10k - R12k with alot of suspension, probably will have to be 26er ...

Is a bike like a Makulu something that can still climb reasonably?

Climbing is relative on a trail rig depends on you. But with longer travel unless you lock out creating traction problems sometimes, you are probably going to be slower than a carbon 29 XC. But for every up there is usually a down and that's when you make up

Someone is going to kill me for this...

I hike a bike a lot uphills and to be quite honest - dis lekker! After all, that's why I love trail riding - to enjoy the scenery, not getting back to the car as soon as possible! There's nothing like hiking jou gat af to the top, take in the scenery up there while having a smoke and really just sit there for a while....

My 2c

Someone is going to kill me for this...

I hike a bike a lot uphills and to be quite honest - dis lekker! After all, that's why I love trail riding - to enjoy the scenery, not getting back to the car as soon as possible! There's nothing like hiking jou gat af to the top, take in the scenery up there while having a smoke and really just sit there for a while....

My 2c

That's the spirit! Maybe even a flask of coffee too

I actually did take my little hiking stove an mocha pot once up the mountain and made some coffee up there. That was the most relaxing 30 min of my life - sitting on top of a beautifull autumn valley, having a moer sterk coffee and a camel and just, well, sitting and stare...

Okey great! shot for the input guys! 26er it is! Unless someone offers a 650b trance for a steal.. In that case, let me just make this official.. SHOTGUN.

Okey cool, now that I have dibs, let's assume I'm going 26er in the meanwhile, how do people feel about coil shocks? Seems like a lot of downhill okes use them, but havn't seen them feature much for trail/ enduro riding. I'm considering a 2014 reign x1, where the oke replaced the monarch with a van R coil shock.

I'm definitely not on the level of riding crazy ass terrain and huge drop offs yet, but I want to get there eventually..