Two Savages ended up in hospital with collarbones and ulna. Someone road into a tree and we then ploughed into him, going down. Those that finished are writing the report this evening.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

not meaning to be funny, but how did the dude ride into the tree?

• Replies 42

Tree was across road and he was second wheel and didn't see it and went down. We were 3rd and 5th wheel and ploughed into the rider on ground.

eish, pass on the condolences.

Must be pretty miffed at the lack of communication from the guy up front!!

oh no....thought race was Saturday and thus gave it a miss!

well, as I found out on Sunday morning....my BB had seized anyway :w00t: :thumbdown:

Darling Brew followed by one more ride last Saturday did the trick!? no riding at all last week... :wacko: :blink:

At that point we were all right on top of each others wheels. A rider was passing us on the right.  He gave us a proper wide berth passing and in that split second of noticing him the lead rider at the time brushed the aforementioned tree branch with his left shoulder sending the branch flying back at me.  To be honest that tree branch was the last thing any of us expected to encounter on an wide open road.  Being so close to his rear wheel I was focusing more on not hitting his wheel at the time and trusting the line he was picking, by the time I saw the tree branch was when he already brushed it leaving me with virtually no time to react. According to my Garmin/Strava data we were traveling round about 33 - 34 km/h just before the crash. The tree branch unfortunately ended up yanking my handlebars and I lost control plummeting down in front of everyone becoming an instant obstacle that resulted in the pile up.

:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: Not a lekker moment :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

Wow! A ghastly moment indeed. It's quite a thing combining the unpredictable hazards of cross country mtb riding with the drafting and pace lining of road riding. I found it hellish trying to stck to a wheel on the dirt, scary because you can't see the obstacles and you're having all the mud and droll kicked up in your face. In the end I thought $&@ it I'd rather deal with the wind and rode in front. Only one oke returned the favour on the tar though.

Great description of a ghastly fraction of a second cK. Thanks for posting all concerned, very useful and instructive to hear how these things happen. Sorry to be learning at your guy's expense though.

At that point we were all right on top of each others wheels. A rider was passing us on the right. He gave us a proper wide berth passing and in that split second of noticing him the lead rider at the time brushed the aforementioned tree branch with his left shoulder sending the branch flying back at me. To be honest that tree branch was the last thing any of us expected to encounter on an wide open road. Being so close to his rear wheel I was focusing more on not hitting his wheel at the time and trusting the line he was picking, by the time I saw the tree branch was when he already brushed it leaving me with virtually no time to react. According to my Garmin/Strava data we were traveling round about 33 - 34 km/h just before the crash. The tree branch unfortunately ended up yanking my handlebars and I lost control plummeting down in front of everyone becoming an instant obstacle that resulted in the pile up.

:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: Not a lekker moment :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

At that point we were all right on top of each others wheels. A rider was passing us on the right.  He gave us a proper wide berth passing and in that split second of noticing him the lead rider at the time brushed the aforementioned tree branch with his left shoulder sending the branch flying back at me.  To be honest that tree branch was the last thing any of us expected to encounter on an wide open road.  Being so close to his rear wheel I was focusing more on not hitting his wheel at the time and trusting the line he was picking, by the time I saw the tree branch was when he already brushed it leaving me with virtually no time to react. According to my Garmin/Strava data we were traveling round about 33 - 34 km/h just before the crash. The tree branch unfortunately ended up yanking my handlebars and I lost control plummeting down in front of everyone becoming an instant obstacle that resulted in the pile up.

eish not lekker.

thanks for the explanation. I had visions of a tree, as in something that had been standing in the same place for like 30 years with a solid trunk, not some pliable branch sticking out the side.

eish not lekker.

thanks for the explanation. I had visions of a tree, as in something that had been standing in the same place for like 30 years with a solid trunk, not some pliable branch sticking out the side.

Those are what the trees were like, we moved them out of the road while we waited for the we wah we wah.

post-11806-0-07957200-1497332578_thumb.jpg

I think its re rotated it self, apologies.