Next Bike : Trail vs XC

RacePace

• Replies 86

Rode one of those in Knysna the other day. 

It was great on singletrack but down some faster decends, it felt quite short, might just be in my head, haven't looked at the Geo. Bike was light though, and I'd race that puppy xc any day.

I found the XL size to work well for me @ 1.89m. I've put mine on a weight loss diet since these photos were taken. Carbon seatpost saving 200g, carbon handlebar saving 160g, American Classic Wide Lightning wheels (guessing about 500g lighter). 

I have another full carbon duel that's still a bit lighter than this one though, but I still ride this bike more. 

Honestly don't know why people give Momsen such grief. They really make some proper nice bikes and I think this one was of their best yet.

I found the XL size to work well for me @ 1.89m. I've put mine on a weight loss diet since these photos were taken. Carbon seatpost saving 200g, carbon handlebar saving 160g, American Classic Wide Lightning wheels (guessing about 500g lighter). 

I have another full carbon duel that's still a bit lighter than this one though, but I still ride this bike more. 

Honestly don't know why people give Momsen such grief. They really make some proper nice bikes and I think this one was of their best yet.

Momsen isn't a fashionable brand. They don't build a "modern geometry" bike you know like with a 67ish degree head angle and they don't use words like "capable", "the knar",, and other such fashionable terms. Words like "fast", "ultra", "comfortable", "light" have fallen out of fashion much like "kief" and "lank".

As soon as Momsen update their glossary of kief terms they'll be there like lank Bro. and they have to have an Enduro bike to be recognized by the "in-crowd".

I'd take that new Ultra bike anyday

Momsen isn't a fashionable brand. They don't build a "modern geometry" bike you know like with a 67ish degree head angle and they don't use words like "capable", "the knar",, and other such fashionable terms. Words like "fast", "ultra", "comfortable", "light" have fallen out of fashion much like "kief" and "lank".

As soon as Momsen update their glossary of kief terms they'll be there like lank Bro. and they have to have an Enduro bike to be recognized by the "in-crowd".

I'd take that new Ultra bike anyday

I thought modern geometry was a fad?

That new ultra is bang up to date in terms of geometry. The older ones (incl the Trail) were short by modern standards, which is why the trail was lambasted when it was released recently.

Trail. Here's my baby. My go-to bike. This weekend she'll be heading to Trans Baviaans.

attachicon.gif23905223_10155874170888899_3353138193270762107_n.jpg

attachicon.gif29749296_10156244680698899_2834672950308023521_o.jpg

Dig that saddle, BTW. Is it a proper tioga, or one of the copies?

And yes, I'd hoped that the trail was a little bit longer than it turned out to be. Was released just at the time that most manufacturers had embraced the longer / lower / slacker approach to geo, which was a shame as it really dulled the hype. 

The new Ultra, though - that's really looking good. 

I thought modern geometry was a fad?

That new ultra is bang up to date in terms of geometry. The older ones (incl the Trail) were short by modern standards, which is why the trail was lambasted when it was released recently.

jeepers you really believe in your religion /self don't you. Keep that going if it works for you...

I never said I'd never buy a bike with modern geometry. Nor did I say I don't like "modern geometry.  IF the bike works then it works irrespective of it's lack of or embrace of "modern geometry).

I did say its not my primary concern because Its not a deal breaker.

Oh and yes it's a fad.

The Ultra has several features that make it appealing. Internal storage, three water bottle mounting points and a nice steep seat tube (which isn't a "modern geometry thing you know..)

Other geometry aspect take a secondary interest when I go shopping

jeepers you really believe in your religion /self don't you. Keep that going if it works for you...

I never said I'd never buy a bike with modern geometry. Nor did I say I don't like "modern geometry. IF the bike works then it works irrespective of it's lack of or embrace of "modern geometry).

Oh and yes it's a fad.

The Ultra has several features that make it appealing. Internal storage, three water bottle mounting points and a nice steep seat tube (which isn't a "modern geometry thing you know..)

A good old fashioned vloer moer.

Why not settle it like men. A race down the mamba, or cobra or poffadder, whatever you CPT boys call that thing.

Post Strava results.

Funny thing is he's admitted he thinks modern geo is a fad and is railing against me for posting facts.

Vipa & vipa trail are short by modern standards. Fact.

Vipa trail was poo poo'd at launch because of that. Fact.

Ultra has embraced modern geo. Fact.

????

A fact based religion? That’s refreshing.

And yes, I'd hoped that the trail was a little bit longer than it turned out to be. Was released just at the time that most manufacturers had embraced the longer / lower / slacker approach to geo, which was a shame as it really dulled the hype. 

I'm more of a marathon kinda guy, not gravity these days anymore. So for me this is idea.

Re: Saddle, a R100 copy from AliExpress, "Vertu" brand. Only recently did I break my first one that I mounted in 2012. So for the money its lekker.

I never said I'd never buy a bike with modern geometry. Nor did I say I don't like "modern geometry.  IF the bike works then it works irrespective of it's lack of or embrace of "modern geometry).

Oh and yes it's a fad.

I kinda feel like to miss-interpreted what Mayhem was saying, which I read as a harmless (and IMO accurate) observation. Not a criticism of anything or anyone.