Total beginner needs advice on buying a bike

Lore

I'm busy collect as much info about what bike to buy, but I'm totally confused due to info overload and do not know what to focus on.

I'm 169cm and inseam is 79cm.  I think I will buy a medium - not sure.  I have approx R15k to buy a bike.  There are so many features to compare and I do not know what's the best.  I totally new in bike riding.  We need to use it for leisure - riding on some dirt roads and around in the neighbourhood.  Maybe later we will also join a group, but at first I want to settle in biking riding.

I want to buy a 29er hardtail, (that's all that I'm sure about).  But what other features should one consider, like: 

What shocks (air or coil?) :

What size - small or medium?

Type of brakes?

Is a TREK Marlin 7 a good buy for R13000 on sale?

I'm in the Bloem area and would also consider a good second hand bike, but afraid that I might waste my money.

I will appreciate some advice!!

I found a good buy on a 2019 Trek Roscoe 8 that i picked up for a steal, even though its an older year model, the bike has blown me away with what it delivers from a hardtail

Just did some trail riding today with some fun downhill through the forest, and the bike was a blast,

Only upgrades i have on it is shorter stem and new high rise bars, otherwise completely stock pretty much.

I am no fundi when it comes to bikes, but for a Hardtail and pricing hard to beat a Roscoe when i compare what the equivalent Marlins specs are and price range.

And i have seen a few floating around here within your price range budget

But sure you will be able to find something suitable on here with input from other more knowledgeful memebers 

Good luck :)

1 hour ago, Lore said:

I'm busy collect as much info about what bike to buy, but I'm totally confused due to info overload and do not know what to focus on.