Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Must say, I didn't know riding a road bike could be such fun!

"Supreme Power"? smiley36.gif as for "devious tactical knowledge"... I just followed instructions!

Using a bomb is easy.... disposing of it is even easier when you're out south apparently.  I have made an extra donation to green peace this month to make amends for your blatant disregard for the environment (not so) wise bird..

Was loads of fun and I'll definitely be back to play with the boys again smiley20.gif

Next all you roadies join me on mtb's on the spruit smiley15.gif

• Replies 9.2k

GOv2.

Secret training worked like this.

Left office at around mid day Friday. Packed the bike kit first and an "outfit for the engagement "putty". Then made sure I had clean underwear and an extra pair of shorts. Forgot about shirts so only had one (other than the shirt for Saturday night. Eish, bigga mistaka I maka.)

Helmet, lycra, water bottles and Energade. Bike, rack and most importantly, the cats eye. cram junk in boot and on the road to Standerton. Arrive to find that our (adoptive daughter) is in "town" doing last minute shopping. Jump on bike (barefoot) and in ornary shorts and go down to the dam wall, ride around a bit just for fun and get back to the house.

People soon arrive from "town" and the beer starts. Have one Nick says.

No can do dude, riding bike tomorrow morning. "Is djy nou forkken Mal?" (Nick enquiring about my welll documented lack of sanity.)

Anyway, I eventually give in to the pressure after several hours of nagging and have a couple.

Eish, when it's been a long while since you last had a dop, beer can pack quite a smack.

Saturday morining and I'm up at 5:30, coffee, get dressed and grab the bike. The roads are rutted and potholed and the ride is not a great experience. Narrow roads, loads of trucks and a very chilly morning.

Eventually find a nice quiet road and turn left. The sound of the birds, and the tyres and drive train are all I can hear. On the odd occasion, a farmer comes past in his bakkie, and hoots as he passes and waves. Observation, the platteland people are a nice friendly bunch, very aware of us cyclists and very considerate road users. Giving plenty of room to ride, and all the smiling and waving makes me more tired than the ride itself. They are NOTHING like the tightass stressed city slicker types who think they own the road.

Somewhere at New Denmark, I see an Eland and a few bonte bok, some ostrich and a few other small buck in a field. Stop and the silence is awesome. Just the call of the birds, the occasional sound of cattle lowing somewhere and a very rare sound of motorised vehicles on the roads. So, I just chilled for a long time drooling about how many rump steaks and biltong I could turn that Eland into.

Since I was 25 k's from "home", I decided it was enough and eventually headed back. Did a whole 51 k's on saturday morning. All this secretive training turned out to be a nature ride. Very easy pace and just taking in the sights of wide open spaces on one side and a stunning view of a power station on the other.  

Riding in the country is very cool. Even the bus and truck drivers gave me some space and those farmer dudes, well they are just so friendly and well mannered.

I could easily live out in the country.

So, GOv2, you had a good ride. You got all those other hubbers to join the ride? Great stuff. And Nancy beat Joe Louw. Good thing I wasn't there, I would still be bringing up the rear. Good on yer GOv2, we need to get all these people back for a reunion again sometime. Wonder Woman, when she's motivated also does that route sometimes. Met her once.  

Kid, so much for those gator skins dude. See even the glass and stuff on the road out our way is tough.

Looking forward to riding with the bunch again. It's been a couple of weeks with all this sectretive platteland training. BTW, they call it the platteland, because it's flat. No hills to speak of. Only hills I'm gonna get to ride on are those around here.

You should have just worn your cycling shirt to your "putty" Slave! It worked for the Ravers!!!

I cant take credit for arranging all the riders dude...Indigo was there anyway...

I just invited Nancy to join a road ride...and her entourage included Joe and Mux! She's hooked up dude...but told her she needs to do at least 1 road ride a month with the "Lido Loonies" in order to help her on with her road riding.

Look forward to seeing your new 'form' on the bike Slave...trying to persuade Dash82 to join this weekend.

The one that punctured wasn't a gator skin S2L.. I believe it may have been a conti

I need to clarify that Joe didn't even realise that I was gonna make a break... he was enjoying the scenery.  I believe if he was aware, he woulda kicked my butt!!!

Dash survived the Argus?

Looking forward to Saturday. Weekend before last, just two of us and this past weekend a "Solo" ride.

Nothing like trying to keep up with a bunch to get one moving AND working. It's just too easy to slack off while you're out there flying solo.

Mux spends a lot of time riding in Siukerbos, IIRC, so he must have been strong on that Lido south hill or any of the climbs you had on Saturday.

Nance, I wasn't there, but I'm almost sure the Kid tol'd me he was going to geet (or did go out and get Gator Skins because he hates punctures.)

Maybe I'm mistooken, no biggie.

I have now been over 1700 k's without a puncture. (reaches for head very quickly, and thinks, "touch wood.")

We didnt do anything hard to be honest. Just the usual loop up the steps. And we managed to reel in a smaller group ahead of us just before the top.

Mux looks comfy on a bike...and he looks pretty lean, so I think he'd be pretty sprightly up the climbs.

The reserve is such a good place to train for the climbs...especially if your heading for the Panorama Tour.

Yip, Dash survived the Argus. Glad he did...
I heard that a rider was knocked down opposite Panorama shopping centre yesterday - anyone know anything?

smiley3.gif No BB. I was out of the big city this weekend. (Nah, not the Argus.) Keep us informed if you find out anything.

OK OK I'll clear things up.

Two weeks ago I got a front puncture, had to scrap 2 x tubes and 1 x Michelin Dynamic tyre, bought myself a Gatorskin for the front. This Saturday I got a back puncture and had to scrap another tube & another Michelin. So now I have Gatorskins on the front & the back.

GO2.0 - once thanks for your help,

Nancy Drew - thanks for showing us how a bomb is supposed to be used.

Are you sure you'd like GO2.0 to go mountain biking with you ?

I think you'll have to ride behind him just incase he 'drops' an emtpy packet or something like that.

S2L, this is for you.

So you know all about Saturday's ride, Sat afternoon fitted a Gatorskin on the back and I'm ready for Sunday.

Meet up with the Eagles (fast) group and we off, nothing too serious and I'm riding with the group.

50km into the ride something happens with the front guys (maybe they woke up) and they pick up the pace and that was the end of my group ride. I got dropped like I was looking for parking and I had no idea where I was. Luckily there was a youngester who also fell behind and one the Eagles had promised his (youngesters) father that he would look after him, so I caught up to them and the three of us rode to the circus to drop off the youngster, the Eagle and I carried on. About 3km from the steps the group catches us (well half the group, it had split up again) and we fall back in. All I know is that I was doing 40km/h and the group was just vanishing into the distance. I looked at the CatEye and I had done about 70km so I thought, maybe I should go back via the Lido. The group got on the highway and I thought a single rider on the highway is a bad idea.

So I carried on straight towards the Lido, that road never seemed to finish. Eventually I got onto Swartkoppies and I eventually got home.

My toughest ride yet, done just over 100km no stops (execpt for 1 red robot) and NO PUNCTURES !!!! (thanks GO2.0 smiley20.gifsmiley20.gif)

So S2L, are you ready ???
I heard that a rider was knocked down opposite Panorama shopping centre yesterday - anyone know anything?

My son also told me about this guy.

Apparently the ambulance was there and the rider was wearing pink.

Yikes.

Sounds like I'll have to find another group or go back to the turkey group.

Kid, if they droppedyou, I stand zero chance, unless Dash joins us. He and I can ride together while you okes disappear into the middle distance.

However...it should be known that Nancy used supreme power and devious tactical knowledge to outsprint Joe Low to the stop street!!

Eat humble pie bud!!

I was done up like a kipper, now I'm sick as a parrot.

I gave it 110% but the girl dun well, I got to take some positives out of this and there's no "i" in team.*

(* all taken from the post-match book of cliches)
Joe Low2009-03-09 02:20:36