Polar wearlink chest strap: porblems with signal

Reg Lizard

• Replies 32

Moet wees omdat jy my baby gaan staan en verkoop het dat my hart net nie meer so sterk pomp nieWink

Eish. Me sorry.Confused

Moenie nou maak asof jy niks weet nie, jy weet mos dat ek en jou eks gevoelens vir mekaar gehad hetBig%20smile

Moenie nou maak asof jy niks weet nie' date=' jy weet mos dat ek en jou eks gevoelens vir mekaar gehad hetBig%20smile[/quote']

Ja ek het so gevoel gehad. Sy het my selfs op n training ride gese dat sy eerder verkies om saam met jou te wees. Toe doen ek maar die regte ding en laat haar gaan.Shocked

I sent the watch and the wearlink chest strap to the Polar guys to check it out. Should find out today or tommorrow wat's wrong with it. I still think its the watch's battery that needs to be replaced.

How did you send it and what is the contact details?

You should:

a) run the wearlink contacts under running water befor putting the strap on

b) wash the contacts with a bit of soapy water after a ride and rinse the transmitter. Keep them stored seperately

c) wash the strap in a washing machine once a week. If you wash it with your cycling clothes, don't use fabric softner.

d) give the transmitter a coupla minutes to establish a connection with the headset and settle before you start the recording.

<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

IHF Products

<?: prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />

P O Box 4021

Halfway House

South Africaon>

i do all those things, even bought a new strap- stil no improvement. Last time around it was the same problem and they replaced the transmitter.

Guest Big H
i do all those things' date=' even bought a new strap- stil no improvement. Last time around it was the same problem and they replaced the transmitter.[/quote']

Remember that the conductor pads woven into the wearlink belt operates when they are wet. I always dunk the belt in water bfore I ride. Sweat is not always enough to start the process. I also clean the press-stud contacts on the belt and the transmitter with a toothbrush every now and then. Also remember to remove the transmitter as soon as possible from the belt after training. The transmitter is activated by moisture (the woven wet conductor pads) and will keep on transmitting untill the pads are dried out, thus draining your battery.

Guest Frail4Life

I have also had problems.Cry

My watch would work fine then I start cycling and it switched off.

I have sourced batteries in the Western Cape.

I first found the watch looks for a Heart beat and then a Speed reading.

If any one of those readings are iregular the watch seems to pack up.Confused

The Strap has only got a 730 Hour warranty, (works out to 1 hour / day for 2 years) 365 days x 2.

At no stage will they replace the strap if they relise you have over used the unit.

Ps. On a seperate issue, do you have a Light on the Handle bar?

The light interfers with the Heart rate signals.

David  

These wear link straps (the ones with the woven contact surface) must be the WORST idea that polar ever had.

Please change back to the old type strap, hell I'd rather buy a new strap (old type) every year than have to put up with this ***

I'm constantly battling with mine and I've done everything already mentioned previously in trying to get some consistent behaviour out of them.

Also the fact that the running watch (RS800) and cycling computer (CS400) chest transmitters are not compatible with each other is enough to drive a bi or tri athlete up the friggin wall.

I am also gatvol of having to send everything off to IHF products everytime something goes wrong and that seems to be every 6 monthsDead

Yup - had the same problem, and some more.

The HR on the wrist would often show what appears to be Double my HR or zero !

I tried to close some of the pickup surface on the strap with duck-tape (assumed it was picking-up signal in more than one place !?) This worked for a while - but not long.

* Replaced BOTH batteries (easy to do yourself - get them from your camera shop - your original box had 2 spare O-ring - if that worries you)

* Replaced Chest strap for the new unit (compatible with all S models)

now all operations purring like a baby again - lekker man !

[ps. in winter, the signal does require a bit longer 'pairing' time - due to thicker clothing and I think the windbreaker zip ?!] 

Guest Frail4Life
I am also gatvol of having to send everything off to IHF products everytime something goes wrong and that seems to be every 6 monthsDead

Same.

Had a problem in August 2009. Replaced the Strap at my cost. Posted.

Again a problem in Febuary 2010. Replaced the Strap after a Major fight. At Argus Expo.

I will just have the watch serviced when they come to the Cape.

Argus Expo

Two Oceans Expo

Knysna Expo?

Burger? 

Not sure Knysna and Burger.