weight reduction on a MTB

Face Plant

I personally believe a super duper light bike is overrated......

Buddy of mine doesn't follow a eating plan what so ever... rides a 13kg dual susser and I can say with 99% certainty that he beats most of the weight weenies on races....

but hey.....  would I prefer a light bike over a heavy one.

Of course yes!  (wouldn't sacrifice my tubeless for it though....)

• Replies 53

sometimes its cheaper to buy a whole new bike, then to upgrade. XTR group set +- R20000 to R24000 including wheels, carbon bars, seat pots and stem another R4000 Plus e few extras, you in for 30000 excluding front fork. RM LTD hardtail is about R35000 complete on special at the moment RM XO R29000. makes sense to buy the Raleigh just for the components and sell the frame. tabasco2009-07-16 08:23:29

mm, thanks Marius..

As expected, weight has the biggest impact on the uphill.  The model indicated that for the same amount of work, for every 100g dropped on the bicycle, one will gain about 1-1.25 minutes of time over the 13km (around 1.5-2%).  There is, however, a bit of an exponential relationship, with improvements becoming less, the lower you go in weight

Skeems about 11kg is kind of where it gets silly (why is this yellow??)

However, It wil be something I aspire to.. and Dont tell me Im not going to feel the difference in a 9 or a 10 kg bike..

What the question is ( I think) Is if its going to get you from 30th to 20th or from 130th to 20th.. And that my friend is training..

Im trying both.. got to get my strenth to weight up.. So Its 2x kloofnek 3 x a week with squats etc in the other days. mondays Is swimming.. lungs.. hehe O k I admit theres some lekker bokkies at the pool.. also trying uphill running but thats cause I get shinsplints so I walk down.. hehe

Bos, I admire your commitment to getting stronger but doing Hill intervals x3 a week will fry your legs and you body. Stick to 1x per week Hill Intervals and 1 x Tempo ride and then do 1 x Race as well - that's 3 hard days in a week, more than enough - for me anyways.

Bos' date=' I admire your commitment to getting stronger but doing Hill intervals x3 a week will fry your legs and you body. Stick to 1x per week Hill Intervals and 1 x Tempo ride and then do 1 x Race as well - that's 3 hard days in a week, more than enough - for me anyways. [/quote']

Well, my commitment will only last a week haha..

Thanks man.. Ek hoor jou.. Eks ook maar stupid met dit, over do things a bit.. get to amped..Tempo is cool ja,  daai goed maak mens gou sterk. watse Hr doen jy en hoe lank? dink die boekie het gese 80-85% en 40 mins of was dit 5 on en 5 off vir 40 mins.. Oh shaks.. I actually know nothing.

Ek sal jou advice volg.. Jy sit met results. nie ek nie..

Die dag wat ek daai OKO by jou kom haal bring ek sommer bier en champaigne dan gooi ons n partyWink

I agree with Marius.

best way to reduce weight

1: Rider

2: wheel set

3: Fork

4: Tyres

then you can spend a lot more on the micro adjustments in weight of the individual components...

Try tyres, I've got 485g tubeless ready 2.0 jones xr team bonty's on my GT. Really strong for the weight!

Also foam grips, cut the post, steeres and bar to length if possible.

Get a tubeless conversion like stans.

Get kcnc stem, bar and post. Really light and cheap. Selle Italia slr xc saddle.

KCNC qr's, alligator/awashima/scrub rotors, gripshift and eggbeater pedals.

I'm sure there's lots more...

4. rider

Or bike and rider.

3kg's of me and I spend cash for 1/2kg of the bike. Works well for me.

You will pay R10 000  per kg on a lighter bike and bits if your bike weight is 13kg.  

You will pay 10 000 to cut 100 grams if your bike weight is 10.5kg.

you pay zero to layoff that fast food and do miles - even save money!!

R10 000 for 100grams on a 10.5kg bike..ja whatever. Not even close to being that expensive. You can take 400grams of a bike by swapping to Stans Raven and crow tyres, 200g lost per tyre, will cost you about R1400 from CRC.

And the list just continue with cheapish light parts.

You will pay R10 000  per kg on a lighter bike and bits if your bike weight is 13kg.  

R10 000 for 100grams on a 10.5kg bike..ja whatever. Not even close to being that expensive. You can take 400grams of a bike by swapping to Stans Raven and crow tyres' date=' 200g lost per tyre, will cost you about R1400 from CRC.

Do you call these tires??

20090717_003057_BT26-Raven29x2_.jpg

Daemon, at that level.. nothing is cheap.. at 10 kg's the bike probably already have the "cheepish light parts on" and will need to upgrade to the real thing - expencive light parts

but those Raven tyres got f@kall tread. You ride a month with it and you need to replace it.

I have t agree, if there is one thing I don't skimp on it's my tyres, I use really Mtb tyres - 1200g for the Pair, anything lighter and you run the risk of not finishing your race. - That said, Shan Wilson use those pansie tyres but he has the technical skills to ride light weight tyres without slashing them.

I agree Marius.....  I'm not a weight weenie... (yet) Embarrassed but if I were to become one, I wouldn't use skimpy tyres.....

I think you need more than one hand to count the amount of races Burry Stander lost due to puncturing out....

Ja thats coz burry used to ride with Kenda Karmas, which IMO are reaaaallyyy crappy tyres.  Even Ive cut one just riding down a plain dirt road, nothing technical at all.

I think he's doing much better on the spesh tyres ?

R10 000 for 100grams on a 10.5kg bike..ja whatever. Not even close to being that expensive. You can take 400grams of a bike by swapping to Stans Raven and crow tyres' date=' 200g lost per tyre, will cost you about R1400 from CRC.

Daemon, at that level.. nothing is cheap.. at 10 kg's the bike probably already have the "cheepish light parts on" and will need to upgrade to the real thing - expencive light parts

Sure but R10 000 for 100grams is BS. R1400 for 400grams at that level is defiantly cheap in the WW circles.

Have you ridden these tyres, and not just actually read reviews on the internet? I think lots of people will be

suprised by the Ravens and Crows if you run them at the right PSI. Lots of guys love them. Sure it's a pure racing tyre, and that's it's limitations.

Sure but R10 000 for 100grams is BS. R1400 for 400grams at that level is defiantly cheap in the WW circles.

Have you ridden these tyres, and not just actually read reviews on the internet? I think lots of people will be suprised by the Ravens and Crows if you run them at the right PSI. Lots of guys love them. Sure it's a pure racing tyre, and that's it's limitations.

Daemon the thing is that you could probably race those in KZN or somewhere..but in Capetown area? with our rocks! no ways mate..

I know I havnt ridden them but Im also not stupid. Wink

There are ways to lose gramms on your bike, and there are ways to lose gramms on your bike .. this like you said is the cheap way (the tires).. then, theres the expencive way, which is lighter yet strong parts.. you understand what im saying..?