compact crank or triple

Berry

can someone help what wil be the best for a rookie like me the triplecrank or the compact twin 10 speed

Go for Compact

But if you are used to riding a 53/39 the difference between the 50/34 is bigger.

So instead of the difference being about 3 gears, it is now 5.

So every time I shift to the big ring I need to also raise two or three gears at the back with the same sweep.

The 50/36 is a nicer ratio but not that much easier than the 39.

So get the compact and a 23-11 cassette and you will be set.

Dont get anything bigger than the 23 or else you might as well be walking up the hills.

I ride a 21-11 with my compact.

Most roadies will say 'compact' - for my self (migrating from mountain biking to road), I would say 'triple'.

I'm no expert (far from it), but I find that the 'range' in gears on the triple suits me - no way could I be described as maintaining a constant cadence!

It also depands on 'strength' and, in my case, power-to-weight ratio - being heavy, I struggle on the hills and need the lower gearing to 'grind away'. On the Telkom Challenge, many rookies walked up Hekpoort - I went for the granny gear and plodded up - sometimes down to 6km/h - but I made it up!

Compact twin 10 speed.

sram makes 11-28 cassette and this is all you need.

You can find blades 50,52 and 53 big and 34, 36, 39 that will fit compact crank so when your finesss get up to speed easy to change to "normal" 53-39 setup.

Fisrtly with the compact you gonna save weight

Secondly my first road bike had a triple crank and i NEVER used the small ring. To be honest it was actually a waste. And i didnt not use it cause it was "granny" gear...the ratio is just unrealistic.

Get the compact cause then you kind of "forced" to use the small ring...if you know what i mean

Compact twin 10 speed.

sram makes 11-28 cassette and this is all you need.