Robbie, just for you to get the temperament right, for CWGames

Seepglad

Would he last the Hindian Commoners Wealthy Gaymes?  

54 members have voted

1. 1. At which stage of the race would Robert Hunter bale out?

• He'll pace for first 80kays like two years ago, citing team labour
    • At exactly halfway
    • 3/4 way
    • Never, he'll crawl to the finish
    • He'll finish strong
    • He won't start, complaining about the accommodation
    • He'll have a helluva good race, supporting his team, and exiting gloriously

• Replies 49

From his Twitter account: I'm not racing on sunday ppl the circuit is to hard for me & other riders going better.so its only right they race..

Cant believe this topic... Robbie is an awesome rider. Maybe not the most talented rider 2 come out of SA but probably the hardest working/ most dedicated. He made it when guys like Malcolm Lange couldn't. 1 tour de france win is far greater than 400 local SA race wins. His hard ass attitude is not liked by many but without it he never would have made it. Like it or not Robbie is our best we have right now and should be our childrens 'cycling hero'. So those of you who hate on Robbie, need to grow a pair and realise that none of you were or are half as good as Robbie. Too many bitter has beens out there that never amounted 2 anything. You made no positive difference then and you not making one now either.

From his Twitter account: I'm not racing on sunday ppl the circuit is to hard for me & other riders going better.so its only right they race..

But why then not ride, I mean...huh. Isn't the spirit of the sport to attend. Have the team picked him, is he in Aus?

Cant believe this topic... Robbie is an awesome rider. Maybe not the most talented rider 2 come out of SA but probably the hardest working/ most dedicated. He made it when guys like Malcolm Lange couldn't. 1 tour de france win is far greater than 400 local SA race wins. His hard ass attitude is not liked by many but without it he never would have made it. Like it or not Robbie is our best we have right now and should be our childrens 'cycling hero'. So those of you who hate on Robbie, need to grow a pair and realise that none of you were or are half as good as Robbie. Too many bitter has beens out there that never amounted 2 anything. You made no positive difference then and you not making one now either.

I always find insulting rants and religious signatures such an ironic mixture...

Nicely done!

Many years ago, back when the Internet was all just trees, there used to be "SA Cyclist of The Year" award. One for men, and one for women. No distinction between various two wheeled pedal powered disciplines.

That year, Robbie Hunter became the first South African to ride the TdF.

And Greg Minnaar won the DH World Cup.

Here on Planet Earth, nobody was terribly surprised that Greg won SA Cyclist of the Year.

Robert Hunter was not impressed, spat his dummy, chucked his toys and generally behaved like a spoilt brat. Even to the extent of claiming that he would do a better job of riding a DH course than GM would do riding a road race course.

For that arrogant petulance, and regardless of what he has done in the rest of his career, Robert Hunter will remain, in my view, a total and utter cock socket, and as far from a role model (I'm looking at you Boet) as it is possible to be.

Nicely done!

Anti Robbie stuff

I'm actually quite a Robbie fan!

Robbie is a solid bloke - over confident, overly attituded and a bit of a tjop sometimes but a solid bloke that paid for every palmare he has in equal amounts of sweat and blood.

He did what many were unable and carved out a career in europe pretty much by himself.

I have nothing but respect for the guy and his abilities.

To me this thread was more tongue in cheek than anything else - Robbie's world champs record is shall we say "less than perfect" - can you say DNF DNF DNF DNF?

i dont really know enough about Robbie personally to comment on that, but he must be tougher and harder working than the other SA pro's who gave it a shot overseas... He made it happen, and riden on top pro tour teams.... That firey attitude that sometimes doesnt win him freinds, is the same one that has made him a sprint contended at the highest level... I still remember watching him win that Tour stage, i went off my rocker!!!! ranks with the best moments i can remember in sport

...not a role model to you, or not someone to look up to in terms of cycling? So you've also ridden the TDF then...and you've beaten Robbie!

Let him be arrogant, outspoken whatever, hes a good rider... when you get to the TDF let us know!

Look up to in terms of cycling? WTF does that mean?

Let me spell it out for you: If you want to do well in cycling (or any other sport), the most important thing is to choose your parents well because no amount of training, dedication, commitment or grit will get you on the podium if you do not have physical gifts way out on the skinny end at the right hand side of the bell curve.

I thought I'd made it pretty clear that my low opinion of Robbie Hunter had nothing to do with his (undoubted and uncontested by me) achievements as a cyclist. And I made those points because Boet held him up as a role model - which is something that transcends sport.

Good role models are people who have strength and fortitude of character, which may or may not coincide with success in sport.

Robbies an OK dude down to earth willing to help out, his parents had a sweet and coldrink stand at the 94.7 one year and who was helping out, Robbie, no airs and graces about him.

Grow a pair then read the highlighted bit and you might realise what a poor analogy it is.

I don't detest the man.

Thinks I like about him:

Good solid sprinter.

Hard worker.

Gutsy.

Wanted to bliksem someone with a wheel.

I am being told he also has big respect in the peleton.

My dislikes:

When he made the cancer comment.

The night at Cyclist of the year awards , we all stood there watching him as he threatened to moer Greg, Wesley Fowler then decided to show Hunter how to ride a roadbike and folded his roadbike on the vert.

Sure Robbie is a stand up kinda dude but so is my dinges.

Pffffttt, saddle sore :blink:

Is Robbie really a complainer of note?

Curious poll.

I wish that Robbie does well in the World Champs...

Is Darryl there as well?

Or any other South Efrikans? :rolleyes: