Newbie lady buying first bike - advice please!

tigglescat

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to mountain biking, living in Cape Town, and really need some advice on buying my first bike and related equipment.

1. A knowledgable beginner-friendly cycle store - any recommendations?

2. Looking at a budget of R10-12k, any recommendations?

3. I'll be looking at a small 26" i think, I'm short and petite (5'3" and 55kg)

4. Dual suspension or hardtail (if even possible to get DS in my budget)?

5. Beginner-friendly cycle clubs that can help with teaching me to ride with cleats, and maintain the bike, do emergency repairs etc

Thanks a ton, and hope to hear from you all soon!

Cat

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Cat, welcome to the Hub.

You are going to get loads of comments about the best shop. Everyone has had good and bad experiences.

Make a list of a few bikeshops in your area and then go and chat to them and see if they provide you with what you are looking for.

As an aside, is that budget for the bike, or all inclusive ?

Olympic Cycles is one option if you are in that area:

67 Lansdowne Rd

Claremont

Cape Town

Telephone: 27 (21) 6715008

I would suggest hard tail to begin with, take it from there. What you will also be considering and pitched on is the 29'er - apparently bodes well even for the smaller cyclists, so unless you going 2nd hand route where many 26" bargains can be had, might as well get with the program. Try go tubeless to begin with: much less hassle with flats.

As for learning the ropes - just get our there to one of the many bike parks and just get on the trail, and learn by doing. pack some essential spares, if you break down others will help. Then come home and search some youtubes for self education on techniques etc, as most of us do here.