And as you will discover on Sunday, the race only consists of up hills and therefore the return trip must be down hill...

Eish...i get a pain in my gat thinking about doing this route in reverse
  • Replies 453

What time frame are you guys aiming to finish in? And what would you say is the average time of okes finishing?

Last year i did 6 hours 20min i think, this year i would like to go in between 5 and 5 and half hours Edited by fabes

4 hours serious race snake

5 hours well fit

6 hours fit'ish (repeatedly thinking to yourself you should have trained harder) 5 hours a week just wasnt enough.

7 hours the optimistic crowd that know they should not have been there on race day.

8 hours the slugish that thought it would be a good challenge but blame their heavy bikes for everything.

Edited by covie

Thanks for all the replies. Gave me a good idea. If I come in at between 5:00 and 5:30 I'll be happy.

But I'll probably do 3.28

8 hours the slugish that thought it would be a good challenge downhill all the way but instead discover there are a few climbs along the way and then blame their heavy bikes for everything.

Fixed :)

Why race it when you can have fun riding it??

stop - take in the nice scenery...you'll still get the same medal as the 4th place dude!!

DRINK lost of water during the race...dronk LOTS of beer after the race...

I'll be happy with around 5hrs. Avg of around 20km/h should be well within my reach (I hope :blush: )

Yeah id be happy with a 5h time, not that fit this year :unsure: and i dont feel like hurting myself toooooo much :rolleyes:

Why race it when you can have fun riding it??

stop - take in the nice scenery...you'll still get the same medal as the 4th place dude!!

DRINK lost of water during the race...dronk LOTS of beer after the race...

the guy who comes 4th has more beer drinking time tho

How are we Hubbers gonna recognise each other? I don't know most of the guys personaly. A lekker cold one shared afterwards sounds like a great plan to me.

I've got a feeling there is gonna be same pain involved anyway, so let's see what happens. Is it a good idea to start in your early group to avoid some pile ups along the way? Or can I slip back a start group or two to ride with people who is aiming for the same (read slower) time that I have in mind?

One last silly question: How open are they to guys filling up their water bottels at the water points?