That is seriously good going....I log my hours in sporttracks and are no where near that on a drivetrain.

I log all my stuff on Garmin Connect and keep a log book of when I replace what so that I know the hours and distance I get out of each item.

bliksem - I was quite chuffed with the 4500 odd km I got on my 42t chainring (2x10). The cluster is okish and the 28t chainring is virtually unused..I am rather going to do the entire drivetrain.......but 10000k's!!!!

Personally I think it is based on your terrain. It is flat up here so my 38T chainring is only really subjected to high cadence where you live in a hillier part of the world and subject it to slow but "powerful" efforts which wear it down faster.

• Replies 47

I have the manual have read it and serviced my own

How many km do you ride in an hour??The oke has done 700km sunshine.The bike is brand new

Well then you should know its not based on km but rather hours done on bike. Might wanna check that manual again.....sunshine!

from latest 2013 Reba service manual

post-9825-0-08347200-1371563200_thumb.jpg

Personally I think it is based on your terrain. It is flat up here so my 38T chainring is only really subjected to high cadence where you live in a hillier part of the world and subject it to slow but "powerful" efforts which wear it down faster.

good point

I log all my stuff on Garmin Connect and keep a log book of when I replace what so that I know the hours and distance I get out of each item.

Not disputing, just amazed, seriously good miles you getting there....jasim

Well then you should know its not based on km but rather hours done on bike. Might wanna check that manual again.....sunshine!

Everything is relative though, 50 hours in the Cape isn't the same as 50 hours on our infamous dirt roads. Which is why I stretch the service intervals a little. Besides, it isn't financially viable to service a fork on a monthly basis based on those hours.

True and hear your on the terrain and conditions. Just with forks its a non neg for me, replacing uppers is very costly to the point that you might as well buy a new fork. The trick is to learn to service them yourself. Piece of tekkie and if you buy a new RS, they normally come with one service kit included, so you are generally good for about 200 hours, that is if you do the work yourself.

Ermm.....is there something difficult to understand about what exactly 700km is?For ease of reference lets say as a newbie he is riding pretty easy terrain and averages about 15km per hour...that equates to 47hrs

No wonder your services cost a fortune...you do them too often

Another thing who says its a Reba??

True and hear your on the terrain and conditions. Just with forks its a non neg for me, replacing uppers is very costly to the point that you might as well buy a new fork. The trick is to learn to service them yourself. Piece of tekkie and if you buy a new RS, they normally come with one service kit included, so you are generally good for about 200 hours, that is if you do the work yourself.

Which reminds me, it is time to service my SID again.

Ermm.....is there something difficult to understand about what exactly 700km is?For ease of reference lets say as a newbie he is riding pretty easy terrain and averages about 15km per hour...that equates to 47hrs

No wonder your services cost a fortune...you do them too often

Another thing who says its a Reba??

Clearly, the avg speed is closer to 10 than 15 for someone starting out. By his own admission he doesn't exactly know how many hours so why underestimate. Rather be safe than sorry on forks and shocks. You leave a bearing...no biggie, your bike just doesn't ride lekker, you leave a fork, you hoes big time if you get it wrong. Stanchions moertoe and you cry croc tears. Have seen the prices of forks recently...it is something you don't skimp on....leave the bb leave the headset, but look after your fork.

We can only hope it's a Reba, it's not the most maintenance intensive, but that is my experience.

Oh and don't worry bout my servicing costs, I like to tinker on my own bike and do my own servicing, also ride a SS which is cheap as chips ito maintenance. Mtb'ing is hard on equipment, fact...look after your stuff and you will enjoy your riding more

Sjo! If I have to go by the book on hours/km's I would be broke. All I do is the following:

1. Properly clean ALL greasy parts with parraffin (and I mean properly, with a toothbrush etc) at least once a week and relube chain.

2. Clean upper tubes of fork after every ride.

3. About every 2-4 weeks feel if bearings are fine, feel for vibrations and listen for unusual noises.

4. If cables stretch out, ONLY TIGHTEN THE CABLE, DON'T FIDDLE WITH THE SCREWS ON THE FD/RD.

5. Take the fork for a service about twice a year.

Doing this my bike always looks spotless and rides like a dream. But I guess it depends how much you ride, what type of riding etc. If you're permanently in the dirt, bouncing the fork from 3m drops, shifting 30 times in 2 mins, shifting while chain is under severe strain, riding a low cadence etc then you'll need a new bike every week.

Edited by Wimmas

Let assume 150 hours plus....

Ok so based on that you probably need the following

1 x new chain, measure it yourself to see the wear

1 x regular fork service(new oil and seals)

1 x air cannister service for shock

1 x new cables for crisp shifting and setting of gears

Other than that, if there is something wrong, it might not need it though, look at...stiff headset(headset bearings), brakepad wear, cranks not spinning smoothly(BB), new slime in your tyres, cassette, brake bleed if brakes are soft

FAAACK - back in the day I did 1200 a month and even up to 2400 one December - If I serviced like that I would be broke - Oh wait a minute, I am broke but that is from being married :w00t:

Hi all

Am still quite new to the mtb scene , can anyone recommend a good place to take my mtb for a service preferably in the East Rand area.

Thanks

Buy a workshop stand and research how to do stuff on the net - a few special tools that don't cost too much and you do it yourself - my bike and chain was washed and lubed every week (also washing the bike on a proper stand takes half the time).

Whatever you do don't buy a stand with a scale because it is all downhill from there....

Edited by chris_w_65

My patner rides a SRAM XX I ride Shimano we done the same distance to the meter on new bikes. He's had to replace his chain after 1400 km. my chain is perfect. So it's what components you have on our bike.