[Event] NISSAN TRAILSEEKER #3 Van Gaalens

Did VG yesterday with the intention of riding the entire route, lekka looooooooong ride. so we were doing okay finding our way around we only ridden there once before. decided to do the single track on Daggapad ....... :eek: f.......g hectic stuff. cut out pomphius loop cause it looked kind of boring, hit the railway line, under the bridge, singletrack up to district road and then on past Vulture restaurant looking for the single track back to the 1st wooden bridge. ended up on Oom Piets loop and got hopelessly lost. We ended back on district road after riding past som ma plotters houses which reminded me of the movie Deliverence and eventually found the 2nd part of single track back to wooden bridge, played like children and missed the Greek Church turnoff, carried on playing like kids arriving back at VG after 47km and 600m of climbing.

Awsome ride at an awesome place. Still think their route markings need serious improvement thow especially for the newbies. maybe next week ride for the 3rd time we'll get it right. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Edited by madmarc
  • Replies 856

Did VG yesterday with the intention of riding the entire route, lekka looooooooong ride. so we were doing okay finding our way around we only ridden there once before. decided to do the single track on Daggapad ....... :eek: f.......g hectic stuff. cut out pomphius loop cause it looked kind of boring, hit the railway line, under the bridge, singletrack up to district road and then on past Vulture restaurant looking for the single track back to the 1st wooden bridge. ended up on Oom Piets loop and got hopelessly lost. We ended back on district road after riding past som ma plotters houses which reminded me of the movie Deliverence and eventually found the 2nd part of single track back to wooden bridge, played like children and missed the Greek Church turnoff, carried on playing like kids arriving back at VG after 47km and 600m of climbing.

Awsome ride at an awesome place. Still think their route markings need serious improvement thow especially for the newbies. maybe next week ride for the 3rd time we'll get it right. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Was that you guys i came riding up behind on your way to oom piets? I was on the Santa Cruz hard tail.

It must have been, we were on SCOTT 910 29er and TREK s/fly100 both red and black. I was in Plumblink Kit and partner was in Edengeln club kit. We were the only souls on Oom Piet I think

If you went past the ma-plotter houses you probably took a wrong turn...you went right at the bottom of the oom piets descent instead of left.....beware, that guy gets the blixem in if you ride past his house, I am sure he will start shooting...he drives a cortina with a lift kit, wrapped in matt black with huge monster energy drink decals....hy vattie kakie

what bike did you ride at avianto this weekend

Black niner EMD singlspeed with rigid fork...you?

I was looking for your china carbon with the orange stickers. Black and whit spez stumpy

ag koot, demmit, betty stayed at home and I took the SS donkey...it was quite tough track for a SS, I am not going lie.

was not easy. the wall bites after the 4th round. will see you somewhere soon

That's exactly where we went wrong, turned right instead of left. and yes that black wrapped Monster bakkie was parked in his carport, didn't see him thou, maybe he was still trying to wake up after the vyf man kan he consumed the night before.

There are some serious hillbillies living on the slopes of Magaliesburg, We couldn't find any route markings after the last steel fence bridge. Me thinks Eric needs to paint some big rocks where you supposed to go left, gonna have nightmares about this oke chasing me down with a crossbow in his Monster truck

That's exactly where we went wrong, turned right instead of left. and yes that black wrapped Monster bakkie was parked in his carport, didn't see him thou, maybe he was still trying to wake up after the vyf man kan he consumed the night before.

There are some serious hillbillies living on the slopes of Magaliesburg, We couldn't find any route markings after the last steel fence bridge. Me thinks Eric needs to paint some big rocks where you supposed to go left, gonna have nightmares about this oke chasing me down with a crossbow in his Monster truck

hahahha he is quite rof to be honest, wanted to moer me when we went wrong the one time...he came storming out and stopped us, he said we are trespassing(which we were technically, but not on purpose). I apologized and asked for directions back. He then calmed down....thank goodness. He sent us on our way and told us to tell Erik to "merk die blixemse paadjies"...hahaha

Yeah that was you guys. Where you went wrong i didn't think much about it as he has an arrow there. Ok in your defense the arrow was rather high up in a tree, typical Eric marking style Ha Ha

You much have enjoyed the first part on the downhill on those bikes