Wont get into the maybes and who should respect who first part of your post. But I will say as a general rule, I get far more respect when I'm on two wheels from Taxis than from any other group of vehicles.

I dont.....taxis drive like idiots.....they dont stop at red lights, they stop in the middle of a roundabout/circle....etc etc

• Replies 65

they dont stop at red lights, they stop in the middle of a roundabout/circle....etc etc

Show me any driver of any car/truck/bus/whatever who doesn't behave like that on these roads.

Wont get into the maybes and who should respect who first part of your post. But I will say as a general rule, I get far more respect when I'm on two wheels from Taxis than from any other group of vehicles.

I agree. I feel much safer driving close to a township than riding anywhere in Pretoria East where people in their expensive SUV want to show you how close they can get when passing you just because in their small mind they believe that cyclists don't belong in the road.

Edited by Hennie VR

I agree. I feel much safer driving close to a township than riding anywhere in Pretoria East where people in their expensive SUV want to show you how close they can get when passing you just because in their small mind they believe that cyclists don't belong in the road.

Lane splitting this afternoon, Atlas road was choc-a-block, and Merc and Prado (not too mention feeling sorry for themselve little man in their Polo's and GTI's) all either swerved into the center to prevent me passing, or just pretended not to see or hear me. Only passed a handful of taxis, and they all moved as far to the side as they could.

Them and like artisan type okes in their bakkies. I love those okes. They almost try and drive up the pavement to make room for me.

Yup, I often find the same

Could not agree more there.

So ... following the logic of some oaks here. As a motorist should I now earn the respect of the truck drivers and if I get wiped out it would be my fault regardless as I have the smaller vehicle.

Sorry that idea just does not work for me.

I think those cyclists have balls, yes they might be in their rights but to ride like that to slowdown SA drivers who are aggressive, impatient and highly competitive for "pole position" is brave.

The BMW driver was wrong over taking on a solid line, anything oncoming would've made him swerve back into his lane and those cyclists would've kaked.

This is a topic that has opposing sides, and both are right and wrong.

Show me any driver of any car/truck/bus/whatever who doesn't behave like that on these roads.

Why do cars happily stop behind taxis offloading in the circle? Dont hoot etc

BUT

They can not slow down and NOT pass you as a car is comming from the front?

I think those cyclists have balls, yes they might be in their rights but to ride like that to slowdown SA drivers who are aggressive, impatient and highly competitive for "pole position" is brave.

The BMW driver was wrong over taking on a solid line, anything oncoming would've made him swerve back into his lane and those cyclists would've kaked.

This is a topic that has opposing sides, and both are right and wrong.

Maybe those cyclist was gatvol off not being respected on the road and hence did not give a damn any longer

Guest Latent Blue
So, if you ever wondered what it looks like from a car when we cycle, have a look at this video I found on Youtube.

Shocking that we always claim innocence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiV_jGrstiM

Common people, focus.

Next week one of them will get knocked over and there will be a RIP fellow cyclist thread.

If you ride two or more abreast you are putting yourself in danger... if you would like to believe it or not