[Event] Tip Trans Cederberg MTB Xperience

I'm amazed at how strong the field were, more than a 3rd of the riders managed a Sub 5 to finish within an hour of the winner, you don't see something like that everyday. And it is nice to see the event grow so fast, much more people than last year.

If the race was 108km long I would have had a perfect time, felt strong up until 100km's but like last year fizzled out like a wet firecracker in the last 10km, about 20 people must have passed me on that stretch... :cursing:. Still managed a comfortable Sub 5 so I'm happy with the end result and will be back next year!

• Replies 103

Yeah. Easy going. Cracked a sub 5 by a minute and a half. Ran a 34-17. Should have gone 36. Might have done a bit better. Great fun.

That is impressive also cracked a sub 5 on my first attempt :clap: That last 10km was just a killer for me as I started to cramp up a bit and that sandpits didn't help the cause :cursing: But still good fun :thumbup:

All the tips the okes gave in the lead up was spot on, I was told wear a buff and it worked like a charm. I suffered from insomnia so had very little sleep. I was too ambitious and aimed for a sub 5, wasnt strong enough for that distance on an MTB, my longest before that was the long argus MTB challenge. I probably overcooked it at the start. At 80km I was on track for a sub 5 but after the refreshment stop my energy was gone, I pulled up on the left leg (first time I ever did that) and at 103km I pulled on the right leg. the last 25km for me was tough. I must say some okes are really strong, especially the old timers, I saw some of them flying. Oh and I fell in the thick sand, couldn't uncleat fast enough or maybe I just wanted to lay down a bit.

Goodie bag not too shabby either

Great race, lovely route, i know what to do now, cant wait for Tip Trans 2015.

I did this race as preparation for the K2C. The stretch gravel outside Citrusdal was a bit boring. I did not like the sandy patch at the end either, took a little tumble there and fell in a patch of last season's duwweltjies, when I remounted I found some stuck to me and were trapped between my bum and the saddle. Made me forget the tired legs, though.

I enjoyed the rest of the route, up the pass and down to Algeria, the roller coaster hills going past Jamaka and the ride next to the dam and the river. The weather played along too, fairly cool, the route will be much tougher when the temperature goes into the 30's as regularly happens in the Cederberg in spring.

Glad all you guys and gals had a lekker time. I had a shocker this year. Last year 5:30, this year 6:22. :eek: :oops:I hope its gonna be a better K2C otherwise I`m gonna cry. :blush: :blush: :blush: .

Had a great time and really enjoyed the race. Wasn't very impressed with the last few km's unrideable sand pits, really don't know why they want to end a nice race like that with such a crap piece of road.

Jislaaik and what was the truck drivers problem, last year the race really started off great because we had a nice steady start, this year well maybe he was late for something!

Any way, still had a good time!

Any idea where last years results are? I want to see the difference and on a different ride. This years conditions were perfect though.

The results have vanished from the net. Bolla is rather upset with last years time keepers, hence the new time keepers.

Had a great time and really enjoyed the race. Wasn't very impressed with the last few km's unrideable sand pits, really don't know why they want to end a nice race like that with such a crap piece of road.

Jislaaik and what was the truck drivers problem, last year the race really started off great because we had a nice steady start, this year well maybe he was late for something!

Any way, still had a good time!

Last year’s driver was not available and we had n new guy on the truck. The truck arrived a bit late for me to go and show him how to do it. He got it right on the 40km . I am also disappointed because I needed a perfect photo for the sponsors where the truck and riders are together.

The results have vanished from the net. Bolla is rather upset with last years time keepers, hence the new time keepers.

Thanks Smurfy. If we find it I will post the link.

4:29 - Was freaken hard, I felt so bad slipping a girl but she was indescribably strong and she almost caught the 1st lady. The last bit through the vineyards I almost had a baby, was so in my mo#r in at that point, and the sand, omg, I just about had it at that point. Will be back next year...

Last year’s driver was not available and we had n new guy on the truck. The truck arrived a bit late for me to go and show him how to do it. He got it right on the 40km . I am also disappointed because I needed a perfect photo for the sponsors where the truck and riders are together.

No problem, thought it was something like that, things like that happen. Thanks for a well organized event.

Last year we finished with a different rout, but then the ostriches arrived and apparently they can run 70km/h. We thought we did not want the riders to sprint to the finish. We scouted for a different finish without a massif climb and not on tar. Unfortunately the best way was with the sandy bit. So next year we can race the ostriches and skip the sand :ph34r: :ph34r:

Edited by Bolla