ChUkKy Posted June 9, 2014 Share Agree, that if you see your koek on that descent its hospital time...out for months...I normally ride the first 100 meters or so, but the rest, aikona....over and above the traffic that you are fighting, you really dont want to fall there. Actually surprised its not a portage like that one section in the monster. Anyhow I rode last years... all of it WesselvdWalt 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
typhoon Posted June 9, 2014 Share From what I can see from Google Earth on the route map, that section is the same as last year, not that hectic technical descent, of 2012 and previous editions. Last year that included a floating bridge. No mention of that this year. Water might be a bit chills for those who don't make it, and a few didn't. Slowing down was there off-coming. if you zoom in on the map and change it to satellite, you can see the floating bridge / water crossing...it's about at the 42km mark. Edited June 9, 2014 by typhoon WesselvdWalt 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Squier Posted June 9, 2014 Share that's what I am talking about bru - Squier was one of the few that rode that,and I am sure a few others. Where I came short (literally) was after changingg my mind / chickening out, to try and stop and dismount means moving ur weight fwd and a launch over the handlebars follows. Dropper seat post should help solve that problem, but one does need commitment, and more importantly, skills. I did?? I honestly can't remember. What I do remember is that I definitely didn't ride last year's descent. I had a 1 year old at home so my medical aid was long gone! Couldn't afford to take any chances. ;-) This year I'll be klapping a portage again. I now have a 2 year old and a 3 month old, that broken clavicle won't go down well with the folks at Discovery. No shame in going for a leisurely stroll down that mountain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouxtjie Posted June 9, 2014 Share I rode last years... all of itskillllza in da house! WesselvdWalt, ChUkKy and jcza 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcza Posted June 9, 2014 Share skillllza in da house! Right on.....if you walking move out my way!! ChUkKy and WesselvdWalt 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouxtjie Posted June 9, 2014 Share Right on.....if you walking move out my way!!Wahahhahaha ask him about nikita.... Mordor as he puts it Edited June 9, 2014 by rouxtjie RossW 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcza Posted June 9, 2014 Share Wahahhahaha ask him about nikita.... Mordor as he puts it Sounds like it was rough, says it was dust. Maybe its time for roadbike? WesselvdWalt and rouxtjie 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouxtjie Posted June 9, 2014 Share Sounds like it was rough, says it was dust. Maybe its time for roadbike?skillz with some "sitting while you pee retort" in 5...4...3...2....1 I did point that out to him btw...iwan, mike and derrick all have roadbikes....he gave me the houtoog ChUkKy and jcza 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcza Posted June 9, 2014 Share skillz with some "sitting while you pee retort" in 5...4...3...2....1 I did point that out to him btw...iwan, mike and derrick all have roadbikes....he gave me the houtoog Ja nee ek se maar niks nie... rouxtjie 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChUkKy Posted June 9, 2014 Share Sounds like it was rough, says it was dust. Maybe its time for roadbike? Shut your whore mouth Me and pedally roadbike dont go in the same sentence. I have a proper road bike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RossW Posted June 9, 2014 Share I missed last years VG due to injury and recovery. I've heard frightening things about the floating bridge. That the side when riding off of it is very slippery and okes were falling everywhere. Is this the case? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChUkKy Posted June 9, 2014 Share I missed last years VG due to injury and recovery. I've heard frightening things about the floating bridge. That the side when riding off of it is very slippery and okes were falling everywhere. Is this the case? Why do you want to ride off it? Stay in the middle WesselvdWalt, Pants Boy and LongDonkey 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouxtjie Posted June 9, 2014 Share Why do you want to ride off it? Stay in the middleoooo eh eh....that is fighting talk. Ross over to you. ChUkKy 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcza Posted June 9, 2014 Share I missed last years VG due to injury and recovery. I've heard frightening things about the floating bridge. That the side when riding off of it is very slippery and okes were falling everywhere. Is this the case? Straight bridge - was no problem. Didn't see anyone fall in.....but there is always one (or more) WesselvdWalt, LongDonkey and ChUkKy 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChUkKy Posted June 9, 2014 Share oooo eh eh....that is fighting talk. Ross over to you. I rode to Mordor on Saturday, Im ready for this ride now. rouxtjie 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rouxtjie Posted June 9, 2014 Share I rode to Mordor on Saturday, Im ready for this ride now.Sweet. Remember....we eat when we leave the shire....not when we knocking on mordor's gates. ChUkKy 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...