PPA One Tonner logistics

Korkstah

You guys are responsible for looking after yourself and getting yourself home from events. I am pretty sure that PPA are not obliged to provide medical support and/or drive you home. 

Seriously??

• Replies 58

You guys are responsible for looking after yourself and getting yourself home from events. I am pretty sure that PPA are not obliged to provide medical support and/or drive you home. 

Then why have back up vehicles and medical staff. I`m sure the op did not want a ride home, just proper MEDICAL ATTENTION. Why have them there if they are just gonna send you home? Just a tought.

Yes.. All I wanted was for them to have a look at how bad my injuries are... maybe give me a pain tablet and cover the open wounds as the blood was running down everywhere. 

I didn't expect much but the fact that they only looked at me (before I really entered the room) and told me to go home. I didn't even get a chance to explain my accident or injuries. The place was empty as well so they weren't too busy.

Yes.. All I wanted was for them to have a look at how bad my injuries are... maybe give me a pain tablet and cover the open wounds as the blood was running down everywhere. 

I didn't expect much but the fact that they only looked at me (before I really entered the room) and told me to go home. I didn't even get a chance to explain my accident or injuries. The place was empty as well so they weren't too busy.

Eish!  :eek:

Recover well, man.

See you in the saddle soon.

Please post ther reply to your mail. Crap service from a medic stand.... :cursing:  :cursing: :cursing:  

Eish!  :eek:

Recover well, man.

See you in the saddle soon.

Please post ther reply to your mail. Crap service from a medic stand.... :cursing:  :cursing: :cursing:  

Thanks 'Dale... i can't wait to get back! 

I have sent them an email already. It's okay if they don't reply but I hope they take the message seriously and improve next time ;) 

I know they can  :thumbup:

Now for something completely different:

A couple more toilets at the start would have been awesome.  :huh:

There also should have been more toilets next to the starting chute...

Now for something completely different:

A couple more toilets at the start would have been awesome.  :huh:

There also should have been more toilets next to the starting chute...

I guess you were in the same line as me .... 35 mins wait and no TP

Ok, but to get in at 3pm aint no joke. was a moer of a long time. Feel for the rider. Must just say that the atmosphere at the end is like an RETIREMENT VILLAGE. SECOND YEAR IN A ROW THAT ITS PLAIN AND BORING. No lekker vibe like at the Argus road and mtb. Hell the Burger road and mtb has more life in it, just m2c worth.  

I was hoping to pick up my standard post event recovery meal of a boerewors and coke...alas...nothing in site beside the coffee van and some really expensive burgers.

There more posts bitching about what hubbers didn't like about the race than there are post race posts in the actual one tonner thread.

Thanks troll.

The only real complaint I have was the start of the race. I am assuming the reason for not batching together a number of the groups was to take the limited shoulder of the road into consideration.

I opted to ride with a friend and because of this, we ended up only starting close on 8am (he was close to the end). This in itself poses some questions as these riders really push to complete the ride just before cutoff (which is less time for them than a good cyclist, given the fact that a great cyclist on a bad day would still have more time). We arrived at the venue at 6-15 anticipating much larger starting batches. Whilst standing in the start batches, we almost decided to leave the race and go ride our own 100km route.

Perhaps better communication relating to these types of logistics helps.

The only real complaint I have was the start of the race. I am assuming the reason for not batching together a number of the groups was to take the limited shoulder of the road into consideration.

I opted to ride with a friend and because of this, we ended up only starting close on 8am (he was close to the end). This in itself poses some questions as these riders really push to complete the ride just before cutoff (which is less time for them than a good cyclist, given the fact that a great cyclist on a bad day would still have more time). We arrived at the venue at 6-15 anticipating much larger starting batches. Whilst standing in the start batches, we almost decided to leave the race and go ride our own 100km route.

Perhaps better communication relating to these types of logistics helps.

In fairness, for a race of this length most people entering would not be your average part time cyclist. There are a number of shorter PPA races one can use to improve your seeding if starting at the back was an issue.