December 2014 - Holiday Ride plans

Frosty

I am also in hermanus from the 15th to the 29th, and im planning on riding every morning pretty much to catch up on lost time, also im awake at 5 anyway. Keen to ride MTB and road, also looking to go hemel and aarde (for first time) and some oak valley (for first time). Would be keen to join rides

MTB rides start at 6 am every day during the holidays from the Engen garage at the Sandbaai traffic lights.

• Replies 145

MTB rides start at 6 am every day during the holidays from the Engen garage at the Sandbaai traffic lights.

Is that the Engen with the nursery next door?

anyone around Glengarrif / East Coast Resorts from 14 Dec - 21 Dec ... I know MTB around that area is best, but will have the Road Bike as well.

Guest notmyname

Hi Gerald,

I will be in Strand from the 12th till the 21st of December. Maybe we can meet and do oak valley and some other trails. I will be in George from the 22nd till the 4th of Jan. Anyone in that area that want to meet and do some riding?

Yebo. I'll be in Sedgefield till the end of January. Definitely keen to ride more trails. I'd like to do homtini and petrus see brand. Also going to see a girly girl in oudshoorn so more new trails to be discovered. Yay for holidays!

Garden route trail park around the 27-28th Dec,

then Harkerville on 29th-ish

then Sliperfields mtb park on the 30th..

Guest notmyname

Garden route trail park around the 27-28th Dec,

then Harkerville on 29th-ish

then Sliperfields mtb park on the 30th..

The trail park is fun. I rode a very informal enduro event sort of thingi there last December. Awesome stuff! Sounds like there's going to a large hub crew down there.

Umm last check and it was recent the trail is still closed.

And according to their website, (notice the mountain bike riders pictures) the trail is closed. I suspect they have been wanting bikers out of their for some time. A few years ago there was big issues with bikers using roads to go onto neighbouring property and the neighbours didn't like that !

http://www.capenature.co.za/reserves/kogelberg-nature-reserve/

Also, this is Cape Nature .....

Wow...12 months later and still closed. So I called the office as I also planned to ride there in December.

They are planning to open the route on 1 Dec, but the affected area will still require people to carry their bike across the flooded area. At least we can go enjoy the valley and the rest of the route!

Is that the Engen with the nursery next door?

Yes, it is. Just remember to buy a day pass the day before from the cycle shop on the other side of the road (Euodia cycles) if you want to ride the Hemel en Aarde trails before 9 am, or even better buy an annual pass to support the trail building effort.

anyone around Glengarrif / East Coast Resorts from 14 Dec - 21 Dec ... I know MTB around that area is best, but will have the Road Bike as well.

I will be, will be back home in Beacon bay for holiday, we could maybe meet up at 3 silos or I hear there is a new route at crossways we could try if you'd like some ride buddies

I'm going to be in Tokai, or maybe Durbanville over Xmas and New Year. Def going to ride Bottelary and some of Tygerberg MTB trails. I also want to get out to Jonkers and Welvanpas.

You lucky livestock farmers! Enjoy! To be able to take a holiday over the festive season! For the mielieboere it is just work, work and more work for the next two and a half months. The only riding I will be doing for the next few months is in the tractor, bakkie and cropsprayer!

I'm doing a roadtrip - wife and I with a 2 man tent and the bikes.

3 days in Nieu Bethesda

3 days in P.E.

Overnight stop in Calitzdorp

4 days in CT

Overnight stop in BW

3 days in Smithfield

Wow

What an adventure

Will be in Gansbay from 26Dec to 10Jan,will see if I can join you guys one morning.

I will be in Uvongo on the South coast. Where/who is the place to hook up with some people for a group ride(MTB)? I dont know the area all that well.

chexk out duracycles.co.za for rides in south coast

Anybody going to be in or around Kenton on sea over dec? Keen to hook up and ride mtb I'm there from 15 to 27 dec. where can I get more info on trails ?

The Hemel en Aarde tracks are looking fantastic at the moment, you can also add in the Urban assault at the back of Hermanus for lekker distance without much roadie stuff, even the road out to Stanford is good as long as you stay off the tar. Do day trips out to Bredasdorp ( Naas and the guys have gone to a lot of trouble to build some awesome singletrack) and Greyton.