2015 Bouckaert-Soenen Road Funride

Ramiez

I agree 100%. If I want to ride singletrack I go ride the local trails at my own time without having to be patient with the stumbling noob holding me up or the singletrack hero sitting on my tail.

When I enter the local funride I prefer little or no singletrack and enjoy the ride for what it is. Riding in new&different places and testing my endurance.

Funny thing is, there were actually not that many riders today. Only 132 on racetec. Had they chosen to use the km and km of singletrack available, it would have been fine. Typical hey.

• Replies 76

I did the 43km, which ended up being 46.5km. Ended 2nd overall. Not bad for a fat guy like me. All the hard work during December paid off. Great race. First time doing it. Organisation was excellent.

Just a side note re. who is responsible for the route choice and organisation:

In this rides' case it was the organisers / owners of the race. That would be Paarl Rotary. PPA only sanction it and supply help.

Heard one gentleman at the start complain bitterly about why the PPA didn't put up "mens" and "womans" toilets separately.

Much as I know they sometimes deserve the stick, not everything can be laid at their door.

I was unimpressed with the impromptu route changes. Went up within myself, knowing the little bugger of a climb coming back as you go past Krimiskamp. So pushed a bit more, still within myself up the last bit towards the sementpad, went down and got myself ready for that lekker loop, I really like that bit of climb... only to be thrown right and missing the entire loop?!

Then coming down something went "clack" very loud metallic pop on my bike, with the bike having been quite noisy already all the way. It then went completely wacko ito noise levels. So on all the downhills I rode like an old lady, because I'm still pretty sure something on the bike is rather terminally ill - did not want to chance anything on uneven descends. Sorry for everybody I may have held up, I tried to keep left as far as possible. 

And then they went and cut out the bit of singles below the road. Johny - that was part of the route. (Was specifically edgy about it, since the shorter route was also coming through there...) I was mentally cursing the idjit that stopped in the entrance to the dirt road and was aiming for the gap in front of the bakkie when somebody jumped up and shouted "Straight-straight!"... 

Ja, that's my biggest gripe. If you publish the route, don't make (at least) 3 changes, one of which was a major change, to it without telling anybody. :cursing:  (The first was already in the arboretum...)

And now I still have to pluck up the courage to check out my bike... :unsure:

Thank you Johnny Bravo you read my mind. To the PPA - I move to JHB next week and was a choice this weekend to either ride Rhebokskloof or do this race. Knowing that Paarl has awesome trails I chose the race. Well it was a sufferfest and no fun at all. I wont recommend this race to anyone. The PPA just create an easy route for them and they couldnt give a toss about rider enjoyment. Do Buffet Olives or ride with the Paarl MTB guys to learn what this area is about because today was a waste of time.

You should have joined me yesterday in the 126km road race.

It was really enjoyable though tough but i stuck to the F/G main group all the way and we finished in 3h32 with avg speed 36km/h.

I am happy with my performance seeing as its the 1st race of the year for me. 

Next up the 99er then Tour de Stellenbosch.

I see there was a "hero" who won the D group road race by 10 min. Second place was a person with the same surname (Conradie) who was only 4 minutes ahead. Pity there was no break away from D group.

If you are going to pull out and do the shorter route, please don't cross the mats ... or perhaps you have just over cheated in this case, such that its not subtle enough to pass.

I see there was a "hero" who won the D group road race by 10 min. Second place was a person with the same surname (Conradie) who was only 4 minutes ahead. Pity there was no break away from D group.

If you are going to pull out and do the shorter route, please don't cross the mats ... or perhaps you have just over cheated in this case, such that its not subtle enough to pass.

Also spotted that cancellara and martin was in our group. They must have TT away from us so fast nobody saw them

You should have joined me yesterday in the 126km road race.

It was really enjoyable though tough but i stuck to the F/G main group all the way and we finished in 3h32 with avg speed 36km/h.

I am happy with my performance seeing as its the 1st race of the year for me. 

Next up the 99er then Tour de Stellenbosch.

Well done that is a respectable time, I am impressed L! My road bike is already in JHB and I needed to get a MTB race done ahead of the Ashburton Sabie marathon end of Feb which is gonna be hot and tough! 

Hmmm, (at least) two broken spokes and the clicking apparently (will be confirmed) is the swing-arm bearings. 

Should I change my name to Dikgat?  :ph34r:  :blush:

Hmmm, (at least) two broken spokes and the clicking apparently (will be confirmed) is the swing-arm bearings. 

Should I change my name to Dikgat?  :ph34r:  :blush:

Eish, elke groepie het maar sy dikketjie! :blush: