First time at Tokai

traaidmark

Howzit guys,

Dad was in town from up north and we figured we would go for a morning ride over at Tokai. It was my first time riding there, so figured it would be cool to give some feedback!

1. It is an awesome place to ride. We both had an absolute blast! The singletracks look great and it's obvious that it's being maintained well.

2. It is very confusing. As a first timer we really struggled to even get our permits for the day. Back and forth all over the place. I printed out a map I found online, but seriously struggled to match trail heads with the maps. The results were the two of us landing on trails that might have been somewhat above our skill levels. Really looked forward to the fairy garden tracks, but couldn't find it. I did see some signage for one of the tracks which were graded too (blue). 

3. People were amazing. We stopped by so many folks that day to ask directions, and show them my map and all of them were very happy to help out. Made everything just so much more fun! Even had a lekker chat with a trail runner (lol!)

4. It's the first time in a year that I have done some real mountain biking (bouberg is FLAT), and the biggest thing I realised was: OMG I have grown scared. For the first time in forever I actually walked a rock garden. I had to force myself to be brave and just ride sections. oops. Will defo have to get out on trails more often.

Overall. thanks for the lekker experience to all the hubbers who were out there that day. See you okes again shortly!

If we are thinking of the same rock garden, then don't feel bad about walking it. It has become a lot more tricky of late and I, for one, am man enough to admit that I now walk it. :blush:

Forgot to say, I'm glad you enjoyed it! :thumbup:

If we are thinking of the same rock garden, then don't feel bad about walking it. It has become a lot more tricky of late and I, for one, am man enough to admit that I now walk it. :blush:

Forgot to say, I'm glad you enjoyed it! :thumbup:

Mamba?

I was thinking Boulders but now you have me thinking Mamba.

And as per the OP Tokai can be great fun, we seem to forget how lucky we are to have it on our doorstep and how helpful people can be around there.

Traaidmark if you ever want a guide around there give me a shout, I do my best to live there.

Sorry I have no idea what rock garden it was. It's not really that important. My post is all about how awesome it was!

@marko35s I will defo ping you when I head out there again. Thanks for offering!

Didn't someone break their back there about September last year? I remember reading about it somewhere and seeing the pictures of a helicopter landing.

Yep same spot, think it was an older guy, hit a rock and went OTB...

.. and it was since repaired but without the right soil, it's a spot for constant maintenance.. 

Oddly, when the trees still stood, it was also the difficult part of Mamba needing constant fixes. Guys could just not get around the sharp corner without having an OTB experience. 

I've never walked that piece and have always made it through cleanly, but I always feel that it's 50/50 between making it and going OTB  :wacko:

BTW - Fairy Garden is about 100m after the gate (not the one with the guard, the one just after that) on your left hand side.  Fun little trail to get warmed up

.. and it was since repaired but without the right soil, it's a spot for constant maintenance.. 

Oddly, when the trees still stood, it was also the difficult part of Mamba needing constant fixes. Guys could just not get around the sharp corner without having an OTB experience. 

Feels like so long ago, cant even remember :(

Didn't someone break their back there about September last year? I remember reading about it somewhere and seeing the pictures of a helicopter landing.

Neck fracture if I remember correctly, it was on here somewhere, but as far as I know he recovered well.

Sorry I have no idea what rock garden it was. It's not really that important. My post is all about how awesome it was!

@marko35s I will defo ping you when I head out there again. Thanks for offering!

No problem mate, I'm currently busy arguing for squatters rights there [emoji1]

Ya my dad broke his neck in May there.... He rode in december for the first time again.

Fantastic. Ride with him often. You both will treasure it! :thumbup:  :thumbup: