Review: Specialized Ambush helmet

LazyTrailRider

When considering a new helmet, the average trail/enduro rider has become spoilt for choice in recent years. With the increasing popularity of #enduro combined with a marketing push towards trail riding being the preferred style for the average mountain biker, the market for extended-coverage lids has exploded. There have been interesting offerings from TLD, POC, 661, Giro, Bell and IXS to name a few. Specialized's Ambush is late to the party, but is it because it's been practising a few moves?

I had been wearing a Giro Xar for about 2 years so had a good base for comparison before starting my review of the Ambush. The Xar was one of the original trail-biased models on offer and has seen mixed success due to it not offering much in the line of extended coverage, but it's a very comfortable and well-made piece of kit which deserves a thorough look by those who tend more towards the trail than the enduro side of the spectrum.

Styling and first impressions

From the moment it's unboxed, you either love or hate the Ambush. It's a dramatically styled lid which evokes mixed opinions. Out of the available colour choices for the South African market, matte black/grey and gloss white/grey can be described as  "modest", but the hyper (Specialized's luminous green/yellow) and turquoise models most certainly cannot be. I've become a fan of loud colours in recent years, so opted for the very conspicuous turquoise. It's definitely a talking point!

Specialized refers to the vent layout on the Ambush as 4th Dimension, with 20 fairly large vents with deep internal channels doing cooling duty.

post-3655-0-75006700-1449067709_thumb.jpg

Views are striking from all angles, with the rear showcasing vertical vents typical to Specialized.

post-3655-0-85392300-1449067711_thumb.jpg

Safety and build quality