LeoKnight

So, Monday night I was sitting in my tent, feeling sorry for myself and thinking that I will never do another W2W. Now, after having a good Day 3 I feel better, knowing that I had the legs.

So, maybe the year after next year. Next year this time my son is doing his Matric Finals.

• Replies 350

Back home in Jozi after a smashing RIDE. I’ve done the last three and if the first was 10/10, last year was a 9/10 and this year a 7/10. Brilliant, hell yeah but definitely feel the food both at the race village and at the waterpoints have lost what used to be a drawpoint. I think other events have stepped up a notch and W2W have dropped a notch which is why I feel disappointed. The trails are still brilliant but every year now just get more rocky and rootie. I really found prize giving every night a waste of time. It was HOT!!! But I’m ok with the heat and think if you arrived with marginal fitness it would have hurt!!

Was it a great event? Yes

Was it worth it? Yes

Will I be back next year for a 4th? No

Simply, there are just as good events to experience. So I won’t be back.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is there a way that I can exchange my Medium W2W tops for Large? I only fitted one when I got home, and they are too tight. Obviously I have not worn them at all yet.

This was my first ever W2W and also my first ever stage race.

I really believed that I was well prepared. Personal challenges from my partners side made it a stressful experience. Besides that he didn't really train which really made me stress. He fell out early on day 1...at 7.69km...

This left me on my own and from deadlast with the sweeps (such fantastic people) I managed to improve my seeding (I did no seeding races), so even on a hellavu hot day I managed to ride well which proved that I had worked hard. (I am whale at 113kg, whicn probably made the race tougher)

On the 2nd day about 15-20km out I met a guy who also lost his partner and was looking to stop. We rode out day 2 and did the whole of day 3 together. This made me realize just how important a partner is. I am sure I would have finished had I gone 100% solo but day 3 was the most enjoyable day I had. We had fun talking and riding. First pointer...pick the right partner...just cos you are friends doesn't mean you should ride together.

I would love to complain about people who couldn't ride singletrack but won't cos I need to climb better to get there before them. I ca n proudly say rode every single piece and to see people walking floored me. There really is nothing technical there.

I thought the catering, admin and all round organisation was great, but again I don't have much to compare it to.

For me the most important question is will I do this again...W2W or any stage race...it is highly unlikely. I say this bacause this type of riding doesn't elicit any form of joy from me. There is a huge sense of accomplishment, and I feel great for what I achieved, but I only really ever enjoyed it when I was riding proper singletrack...sounds of silence, hemel en aarde etc. After reading a comprehensive review on the Eselenduro I can honsetly say that that sounds way more like the person I am and how I like to ride. I don't care how many meters I climb, I wanna know how many I can come down!

This sealed it for me I will be going longer travel. And doing a skills course. Even though I could ride everything I'd like to be even more gnarly!!!

I give the experience 9/10. I would recommend it to anybody. Even if it only serves as a right of passage or a method of self discovery.

We want a Myles type, detailed report please big guy

But I didn’t DNF? Just kidding Myles...

Yeah so I did my first W2W this week. What an awesome experience and I will definitely be back.

I haven’t done a stage race in a few years now and the last one I did was the Knysna 200 where you stayed In Your own accommodation and there was a small race village. So experiencing a race village this size was a first and really enjoyed it. Registration was really well organized and Lourensford is beautiful.

Day1 was a real toughie. I was well prepped for that first climb and took it really easy. I thought the first 20km was really beautiful with some really great views. The next 30 was moer tough with the temperatures rising and the climbs getting steeper. Mentally I was well prepped for the portage so I wasn’t to fussed about it. It was really scenic and enjoyed the historic site as well. Being slightly taller I found it quite easy to push the bike up there. Views were from up top there were breath taking. The next bit of single track though after the portage was really kaaaak (imho). Rocky and couldn’t really get going. From there on in it was a tough going for myself and partner but managed to limp in with a 6:10. I was also a little upset as the organizers mentioned day 1 would be shortened to 64km but ended up being 67km. Last 3km were dreadful. I also felt the organizers should of shortened the route due to the extreme heat conditions as they were at serious risk at having many health issues out there. Apparently it was the biggest fall out rate they had ever had on W2W

Day 2 was really awesome but found it to be just as tough as day1 with the heat. Vissies Magic was my absolute highlight of the whole ride. Most stunning piece of single track I have ever ridden and it really stood out for me. I also enjoyed the “Sounds of silence” piece (ended up buying 7 bottles of the wine as well ????). The climbs also got a bit hectic up against the mountains with the heat rising again. Just before “poffadder” started we decided to join many others for a goof in the dam. This was also a highlight for me as I found the vibe there fantastic with many relieves riders enjoy the cool off. From there on myself and my partner limped back to the finish with another 6 hour ride. I thought the play park or whatever was slightly over rated. 10/10 for effort but my kids could ride that section. I heard great things about it.

Day 3 was bloody awesome. It had everything and we finished the last bit with some magical single track. Probably the longest flowing smoothest single track of the whole race. I enjoyed it so much I even bought some property there with an OTB fall. Lost a bit of concentration mixed with racing to get to the finished ended up with me falling for the first time all week. It was a great day and didn’t “limp” home to get a time of 5:20.

Over all the riding was phenomenal. I do suggest anybody wanting to do this race to brush up on their technical skills. On day 1 mainly there was a lot of waiting on the single track, and while you waiting you think there must be a very technical obstical in the way but however when you get there it’s a small rock or a tiny drop off less than the height of one step. It was slightly frustrating and when guys mentioned it on this thread earlier I thought they were being slightly arrogant however I now see what they referring to. Whilst waiting in one of these ques at one of these obstacles the one guy shouted what we waiting for now from the back and another guy replied “daar is ‘n klippie in die pad”. I burst out laughing but the sad reality is that some people were stopping for the silliest obstacles.

Race village:

Tents: awesome 10/10. (Had a luxury tent, thanks to my partner????)

Ablutions awesome once again thanks to the luxury option

Food: ya wasn’t amazing and did run out some nights but that **** doesn’t bother me. And I’m sure they will get it right again

Prize givings at night: long winded

Bike wash:2/10 got to my bike on day 3 and it hadn’t been washed and had another bike lying on top of it. Also don’t know if they lubed the chain up

Beers: sorry CBC 2 or 3 of your beers are Lekker but not something I can drink all night. Vine in the tent was also lacking but I am sure that was due to the af *** everyone had

Car transfers: 10/10. Was nice having my car move around with me and used it to store half our crap.

Overall an awesome experience and will definitely be back. Loved every minute and I was pretty bummed to not go ride an awesome trail this morning.

Is there a way that I can exchange my Medium W2W tops for Large? I only fitted one when I got home, and they are too tight. Obviously I have not worn them at all yet.

Yeah I would also like to k ow. Apparently we could of done it after day1 but I was rather buggered to care about a shirt

Day 1

We parked our car at the car transfers parking, prepped our bikes and made sure we put on lots of sunscreen. The car was packed with my work stand, tools and spares. Made it to the start and got some munchies.

We started in J batch at 8h30, and the temps were already climbing steadily. The climb was easy and I paced it so that we could be at the saaltjie one hour into our stage. 1km into the climb a bloke came down with a rear derailleur hanging on the chain, ripped off from the frame. He was not having a good start.

We paced the downhill, hit the rocky ST at Lourensford with a song. Things were going well as my tech skills with rocky ST have improved a lot. Got to WP1, had a quick bite, topped up the water bottle and we were off. Now we hit the boring part of the ride and the temps started climbing steadily still.

We hit the tough second climb, and I had no idea how the most of the backend was going to ride that steep bugger with its ruts and stones. Few tried, but failed a third of the way up.

We tackled the climb on foot. By now it was proper hot and at the top my heartrate was very high (I should ride with my heart rate monitor). We rested and tackled the next ST which I did not enjoy. I soldiered on and at a bunch of trees stopped to lie in the shade for 20m since I felt real bad and dizzy.

Just before WP2 we stopped at a dam so that we could cool our heads. On second thought, I should have jumped into the dam.

Some riders did actually swim to cool off. Man, I was stupid.

Eventually got to WP2 and used lots of ice on my neck to cool my core body temps. I sat there in the shade for another 20m before my wife said we better move on.

My wife was in high spirits still. Dammit, how could she be so tough in this heat?

Now the tough part was waiting in this heat which was still climbing. It was about 12h30 by now.

Day 1 (Cont)

We left WP2 and hit the ST leading to the Gantouw Pass, and people were standing and resting in the shade of trees wherever it could be found. We eventually start the pass and everybody were walking at a snail's pace. Most people (me included) walked for about 50m, stopped to rest, and soldiered on while the sun was hitting us relentlessly. It probably took us 45m to get to the top which felt as if was never going to come. By now I was proper FUBARed and just wanted to get to WP3 as fast as I can. Not sure I wanted to show this pic, but that was me at probably my lowest point.

We moved on and it was by this time that my wife came across the women I talked about. She was lying there and she looked in bigger trouble than I was at that stage. My wife is a registered nurse, so obviously she was trying to help her. I went on to find some shade next to rocks on the jeep track.

We continued on with the A-Z trails, where the heat was even more relentless. There was not even a breath of wind to cool you down. At this point I almost thought that I was going to die on that mountain if I did not get to WP3 fast. Temps were around 45 degrees at some places, with no shade to hide from the sun. Somewhere at a stream we found a medic that were filling water bottles and helping people to cool down. I really missed the forest that used to be there before it all burnt down, as I am sure that would have helped me to cool down after the Gantouw climb. But alas. I was hating the new A-Z experience since I rode the old trails 2 years ago, and they were magic.

We got to WP3 and I decided that I was in big trouble and that it was not worth the risk going on. It was 14h00 by now and the temps at WP3 about 42 degrees. A group of riders then decided to take a shortcut to Oak Valley from there and my wife joined them. I decided to rather take the bakkie to Oak Valley.

Found my wife, picked up our stuff and I sat under the shade of the trees completely demoralised, while my wife went for a shower.

PS: We later heard that night at the dinner that the temps they measured at Gantouw was 39 degrees around 13h00, and some places on the A-Z trails at 49 degrees, though I somehow am not sure of that one. It was also the hottest day in W2W history with highest number of DNFs.

WHAT a year !!!

W2W 1st run - nice days, cold nights

W2W 2nd run - HOT, very hot ....

W2W 3rd run - with more than 20mm rain last night the trails may just get interesting ....

Back home in Jozi after a smashing RIDE. I’ve done the last three and if the first was 10/10, last year was a 9/10 and this year a 7/10. Brilliant, hell yeah but definitely feel the food both at the race village and at the waterpoints have lost what used to be a drawpoint. I think other events have stepped up a notch and W2W have dropped a notch which is why I feel disappointed. The trails are still brilliant but every year now just get more rocky and rootie. I really found prize giving every night a waste of time. It was HOT!!! But I’m ok with the heat and think if you arrived with marginal fitness it would have hurt!!

Was it a great event? Yes

Was it worth it? Yes

Will I be back next year for a 4th? No

Simply, there are just as good events to experience. So I won’t be back.

Great assessment, good to have the comparison to the previous 2 years.

As I read this thread and I might be wrong I get a feeling that those of us who have done a few w2w’s are “moaning” about the event but those who did it for the first time were more positive in their reviews.

Considering how the entries work favoring past entrants these events tend to get repeat visitors instead of constantly getting new people through the experience.

Maybe it’s not the event but just our nature to expect more and more year on year. This lead to the decision in my earlier post to not consider W2W in 2018 and look elsewhere for some new adventures.

All the best for the guys starting today, it is going to be interesting with the amount of rain that fell during the night, can just imagine how the powder on the single track is going to turn into a mud bath.

And there are still some more rain expected during the morning till 11h00. What a mix of weather.

What is best? Heat or rain? I know where my choice is after I experienced both in buckets in a race.

I would rather take the rain. You recover faster for the next day.