Bike Hub weight loss challenge 2018

BigDL

Right, Just found out I am going to San Francisco for work in April. My wife has given me the go-ahead to stay on there for a few days to ride mountain bikes. Plenty of motivation right there for me to continue on this journey of losing weight and getting back to a proper fitness level.

• Replies 1.7k

where does cocoa fit on the scale of healthy to unhealthy things to add to your plain yogurt ?

Very healthy, I should think. First and foremost it is a powerful antioxidant. From the top of my head I seem to remember that a heaped teaspoon of cocoa powder contains more antioxidants than a glass of good red wine. Some studies have also shown positive effects on cholestrol levels and blood pressure. Beware of to much before bedtime as it also contains a heathy dose of caffein. Doctors sometimes warn that people with a tendency to develop kidney stones should stay away from cocoa powder and chocolate, as the oxalate in cocoa can be a contributing factor in the formation of kidney stones.

why are G&T's so bad for you? I mean they cant reeeaaaaaaallly be that bad.

#needbackupjustification :blush:

I think the tonic water is the baddie. So,as I did earlier tonight,pour a stywe dop gin,lots of ice and little tonic [emoji38]

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

I think the tonic water is the baddie. So,as I did earlier tonight,pour a stywe dop gin,lots of ice and little tonic [emoji38]

How bad is passion fruit? Gin, soda and passion fruit is quite lekker.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

How bad is passion fruit? Gin, soda and passion fruit is quite lekker.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Normally those cordials are sugar loaded.

Planning to do a lekker ride on Sunday. Bike should be finished at the LBS by tomorrow. Riser bars on a road bike could be interesting.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

Edited by HyruleWarrior80

Little late to the party.

Got back from UK on the 3rd just on 100,

Being running a little watching what I eat now 96.7, riding Cradle tomorrow.

Looking to get under 90 as a first goal, then 85 but trying to be sensible I picked it gradually want to lose it in the same way.

Excercise and sensible eating so far.

Planning to do a lekker ride on Sunday. Bike should be finished at the LBS by tomorrow. Riser bars on a road bike could be interesting.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

Did a quick 44km after work. Remember to post some pics

Good progress so far this year. Entering for the half 36One was one of the best decisions I have made. I am not trying to lost weight for the race, but it gives me a good time within which to reach some goals, and scares me enough to stay away from eating badly, and more importantly keeps me on the bike and training.

Currently clocking around 200km per week (10hours over 5 days), 150 of which is on the mtb, and 50 on the trainer. I am tired - haven't cycled this much in a long time, but I can feel my fitness picking up even though muscles are fatigued. Eating right is also helping alot, I am 4kg down so far - but still have about 18kg to go. Luckily I have been motivated, and strangely for me not struggling too much to stick to the diet - with the exception of 2 or 3 planned cheat meals this year so far.

The only thing I am sceptical about is my back holding out. Area around L5/S1 disc feels tender, and I am being careful for it not to slip again - doing lots of core workouts and stretching, as well as weekly scheduled trip to the physio. The only downside of being so careful about my back and compensating a bit, is that my neck and upper back muscles get very stiff - but that's why the physio is there. I have a feeling if I lose another 18kg my back issues will sort itself out.

Feels good to be on the way to fitness and good shape again - the last 3/4 years of being fat has not been fun at all!

Very very impressive, just be sure not to over train, have some good rest days if you are feeling fatigued. Remember getting recovery right is as big a part of training as putting in the miles. You don't want adrenal fatigue or something similar to halt your training in its tracks for you.

I am in the same boat started the year of with a bang 19 days of training so far with only about 4 easy days, muscle fatigue is starting to catch up with me now. I am in for the 365 day Strava challenge so this weekend will be 20 min very slow pace walk, give the aching legs some much needed recovery.

Anyway Godspeed on your training endeavours and racing goals.

Yoh. This DOMS is honestly the worst I've ever experienced. Still can't do stairs (down) without going one at a time and holding on to something.

no need to tell you this - but I will anyway.

you need to get increased blood flow into those legs. Hot and/or cold treatments on the legs. Massage, anything to help recover the damage.

it is all about controlling the secondary issues of the DOMS - but you already know this.

Yoh. This DOMS is honestly the worst I've ever experienced. Still can't do stairs (down) without going one at a time and holding on to something.

I've started using my son's protein shake (Shh, don't tell him) to help with Doms recovery.