Merida one forty 500 2017 advice

NatashaHorne

Hi

I have a entry level Silverback Slade 3 size small, which I have been riding on and off for a couple of years now and am looking to upgrade. I do mainly trail riding or jeep track and the odd single track, nothing too technical, as well as the odd event. I ride for the enjoyment and the scenery. I came across this 'sale' on the bike addict website and am wanting other hubbers input. Is it worth it at that price and should I stick to a small frame? I am 1.62m or 1.63m tall( can never remember and not a lightweight- working on that). They also have a titan sonic comp (2017) for R11 690. Or should I wait and save a bit more for something else.post-122839-0-86360100-1518557775_thumb.pngpost-122839-0-68123500-1518557787_thumb.pngpost-122839-0-79138500-1518557798_thumb.png

That looks like a GREAT deal !

Seems like the classic sale you get this time of year ... they need to move old stock to make room on the floor for the 2018 spec bikes.

The Deore components is ample for the average rider.  The price will increase drastically if you want better components.

The 2x10 gear set is brilliant !!  Nice low gear, and good top-end.  IF you get into hill climbing it is easy and cheap to replace the rear cassette with an 11-40 or 11-42.

I am on my second Merida.  Solid bikes and good value for money.

ENJOY :)

bump ....

where are the experts ?

Natasha hang in there, many members here with lots more knowledge than me .... sure they will be around to provide their input

That Merida has a very very nice spec for the money - 140mm travel and dropper included, It will be fun on the trails and general all day mucking about. 

Well worth taking for a test ride!!

Tom

Wow, Bike-Addict has some very nice prices!!

If your budget can stretch, and you decide that really want to fly down every mountain like an absolute hooligan, they have a One-Sixty 7000 for around half of the original list price!!