Support for Development Team in Khayelitsha

Kimikaze

Anyone out there keen to change some young lives? :)

There is a Development Team in Khayelitsha in need of some consistent support (not necessarily financial support). It starts with just getting donated kit and spares to them. They use EVERYTHING. I've been doing this with a team in Nomzamo/Lwandle for a couple of years, and have seen the life changing impact first hand. 

The team needs someone who is active in the cycling community and has a passion for helping youth from disadvantaged backgrounds. It's up to the person how much time to put in, but I suggest starting as follows:

- Put the word out regularly to their cycling community and local bike shops to donate any kit and spares (including holy tubes, which the team patch and reuse). Arrange drop off points or collect every month or 2. Bike shops are generally very happy to act as drop-off points.

- Arrange with the Team Manager in Khayelitsha to give the stuff to him every month or 2. He's based in a safer area in Khayelitsha (I've dropped things off there often), but I'm sure he can arrange pickup from somewhere else if needed.

It can evolve into something greater, like getting the team involved in fundraising (I do this for the Wine Lands Cycling Club), if someone wants to do that. But regular spares and kit is a life changing start, and doesn't require much time and effort. Just consistency. 

The team has a great team manager, Lubabalo. He works in IT full time (mostly from home in Khayelitsha) and he does the best he can with what he can access. He's lovely to connect with. More info about the team here: https://www.facebook.com/WWW.BONGACYCLINGACADEMY.ORG?mibextid=ZbWKwL

Please connect with me if you feel moved to help... Or maybe there's a cycling club or team who want to own this :)

Kim 061 479 2496 

Bump.