Shimano chain on Campy Chorus?

Flippa

Hi All,

I have been haunting The Hub for a couple of months now and I thought I would, timidlyEmbarrassed, post a question to all the hubbers out there.

My road ride is a Giant TCR with a 10s Campy Chorus groupset. My chain needs replacing and my LBS suggested that I could replace it with an Ultegra or Dura-Ace 10s chain. Are there any compatability issues involved? I have been buying from my LBS for a number of years and have no cause to complain.

Any advice/comments will be gratefully received.

P.S. I am an equal opportunity groupset user with Deore LX on my GT Avalanche, so I am hoping this won't degenerate into a Campy vs Shimano thread. Big%20smile

Flippa: rather use a Campy chain. If the price is an issue, contact CWC, since I got a Record chain from them the last time for R330!!

Agree with MD on this, it works after a fashion, just buy the compatible stuff and get it over and done with. The 10s Campy spacing is different to the 10s Shimano spacing.

Have to agree with the guys above. With bike thingies it's worth putting on the correct parts, rather use a campy chain. You'll have less hassles and save money in the long run.

Big%20smile

I cannot see why it would be an issue unless Kempekknoglia has an exclusivity or xcentric clause built into their chain. That it does not work is a fallacy. All chains (that is bicycle chain) have a one inch (1") distance between the rollers. All that changes is the width of the chain for 7 speed, 8/9 speed and 10 speed. Unless Kempekker uses different widths on their cassette, a Shimano chain should work.

At least you will have something dependable and of good quality on your bike!!!!!!!

Big-H: a team mates had Dura Aca on his Giant...new chain required every 6 weeks, then changed to Campy Chorus, new chain required every 6 months... If you don't believe me, I'll give you the LBS phone number, and rider's phone number...