Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Slave

Got an extra 39/52 setup that I got with the 175 cranks to help in Fountains. We can check later if it is compatable with your groupset.
Tyx12009-06-08 02:40:53
  • Replies 9.2k
Morning' date=' all team ASGR members

Slave, glad to see you had fun out south yesterday.

Best you and I have a little chat about race prep before fountains, and stopping at waterpoints - that is so not team ASGR ethics.

Shawn, what happened bru? Sorry I missed out!

Spas - you are a jetsetter china, I thought the doc's were striking cause of money, but seems its because of the fact they dont get as much leave as certain of their colleagues[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley7.gif[/img]

Trubs is back, not in action yet, but perhaps I'll venture outdoors tmrw morning....... blikkies , its cold tdaysmiley11.gif

But coach, I only stopped at two water points. (There were only two)smiley2.gif

I was trying to make up time so was riding hard and the stops were just what the doctor ordered for some recovery. I was able to go again afterwards. smiley19.gif

Seriously, the lack of long slow distances and the weak training schedule I have been on (more like a slow boay to China) has made me see the need for doing longer rides more frequently.smiley9.gif

Seriously dude, the last time I did anything over 60 k's was 22 Apr 2009. Clearly a beega mistaka I maka.smiley18.gif

Since long rides during the week are difficult with shorter daylight hours, I will have to do longer rides on weekends. At least one or two a month of longer than 80 k's.

Saturday I will take a long slow ride to get the bike fitness up and Sunday I will take a nice slow bunch ride, even if I have to hide behind Mona, as a recovery ride and then take Monday for full rest before I go out and do fountains.

Sorry coach, I been lazy. Won't happen again.smiley9.gifsmiley2.gif

Slave - real men dont drink Pink drinks, and real ASGR Team members dont stop at waterpoints!!

You stop when you puncture, and there is more than 10k's left, otherwise you ride on the rim to the finish

You stop to get up after you took a tumble

You stop after crossing the finish line

Do you understand - AND remember - I am watching you!

smiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

But coach' date=' I only stopped at two water points. (There were only two)[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley2.gif[/img]

Otherwise Slave would have stopped some more!!!

I was trying to make up time so was riding hard and the stops were just what the doctor ordered for some recovery. I was able to go again afterwards. smiley19.gif

The doctor is too busy playing water polo so he didn't order anything !!!

Seriously, the lack of long slow FAST distances and the weak training schedule I have been on (more like a slow boay to China) has made me see the need for doing longer FAST rides more frequently.smiley9.gif

Trubie can help with a tranning program but you'll have to be on the road at 5am smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Seriously dude, the last time I did anything over 60 k's was 22 Apr 2009. Clearly a beega mistaka I maka.smiley18.gif

Since long rides during the week are difficult with shorter daylight hours, I will have to do longer rides on weekends. At least one or two a month of longer than 80 k's.

Saturday I will take a long slow FAST ride to get the bike fitness up and Sunday I will take a nice slow FAST bunch ride, even if I have to hide behind Mona  (it's time to get over Mona & move on!!), as a recovery ride and then take Monday for full rest before I go out and do fountains.

Sorry coach, I been lazy. Trubie has summonded you, hy gaan jou klaap Won't happen again.smiley9.gifsmiley2.gif

Slave, I've fixed you previous reply.

Also remember that Trubie wants to "chat" to you before Fountains and the doc is out of the country smiley18.gifsmiley18.gifsmiley18.gif

Trubes. Thanks for the encouragement. Everything in life is there to teach us a lesson. Good stuff and bad. We just have to sometimes search for that lesson, but it's aways there.

Sunday, was a good case in point. I needed racing experience and apart from the lack of race epxerience, I have only once had a puncture on a race. (My second 94.7) A very slow punture so I was not even sure it was one and to be hinest, I was too lazy to stop and check it, so I just pumped the wheel, onky to fond out a little later, that it needed more attention.

Mechanical problems happen, we just have to find solutions and work around the problems.

All in all, it was an enjoyable ride and I can truly say, I got out of it more than I bargained for. It was invaluable experience. Overall, the time was not too bad even though I stopped for quite a while.

The biggest lesson is that I need to put in more effort on the training. Nothing more, nothing less. Training rides are race currency and if there is not enough of that, then race day you will find the need to overdraw the account. That can only lead to massive pain and suffering.

So, fountains will be more of a training ride for more race experience and hopefully, with a bigger field, I can find a suitable bunch to ride in. That was my aim for yesterday but with such a small field of entrants, it was difficult to find a bunch that I could hang onto. Interval and speed training would help.

Yesterday was great despite a few hicups and I would not change a thing. I learned some very valuable lessons.

Tyx1. Sounds good mate. Bring your stuff over and we'll sort out your cranks.

I'll have a look at the 53 / 39 ring and see if we can make it work.

Slave, also in a race, ride your own race. Sure, be aware of bunches to ride in, but concentrate on your own race. In this years Windy Race in the Cape I told myself to ride my own race rather than focus on the bunches. That was up the first climb on the highway just after the start.  The wind made it really tough and so I just had a small chat with myself while riding along. I told myself that the conditions are bad and it is very tough. To get through it I thought that rather than try hold onto groups that would possibly drop me later on I must just ride my own race and within my limits. It is very tempting to join a group as it rides past you but you can tire yourself out. In the end I actually did a very good time and one that was far better than what I had hoped for. My positions in the group was actually much better than what I think I could've achieved if I had focus on the bunches rather than myself.

Guest Agteros

Take the lessons you learnt to heart' date=' and keep on doing the right things.

Nothing more, nothing less, the reality is (OX take note), there are no short cuts, cycle if you plan on cycling fast.[/quote']

Okaaay, taking notes.. but do I have to pay attention as well? smiley36.gif

Trubes, I'd love to be out on the bike more but I do not have a 'baby sitter' (Don't let him read this!)/child minder for when I'm out on the road in the early mornings!

So my 'run to cycle' program(?) stands... Busy adding running distance into the equation... And don't tell me that I can rather cycle than run as a 60min run(10km) means something, but a 60 minute cycle(30km?) is barely a warm-up.

On top of the 'long[er]' runs I'm doing intervals (long AND short), as well as hill training in my 'takkies'... smiley4.gif

Agteros2009-06-08 03:22:04

Thanks Kid. That looks much better now.

Andy, stuff happens dude, but I need some courage to go and face Trubie. Best do it soon, so that I can physically recover from the @ss kicking. Not looking forward to our "chat". It is going to hurt some.

Eish trubes, gotcha. No pink drinks. Them was dark drinks, tased like cola. No Windy corners and no whisky.

No stops either, not even after a tumble, unless the legs are at unusual angles to the body. Just get up, get on and RIDE.

I see the picture and I unnerstand.

so off to montenegro next week for world league finals...........

Beautiful place that mate!!! You may be playing against my family from next door!

For anyone interested, it is piddling down at the mo' in Alberton.

Any and all thoughts of riding this afternoon have taken a dive. Enforced rest for today and word has it, it's going to be brass monkeys tomorrow.

Winter, she's here.

Hey Spaso9, smiley4.gif Nice to see you again buddy.

Slavey! Shame dude...sounds like the curse of the Vaal got ya! I did say to you on saturday that the roads out there can be difficult! Remember?!

But, like you said, its 'school fee's'...and once you've paid em, you dont forget.

As for riding today? Holy toledo dude...you'd need Trubie's Scuba suit!

So right mate. School fees.

Nothing like experience. Without yours and Trubies help though, I might still have been out there hitting the finish line about now.

Apreciate all the help I get from all the hubber and I would like to continue what we chatted about on Friday. Interval training and that sort of thing. I find your infor very entertaining and valuable.

Just got to go and get my klap from Trubie.

Slave - real men dont drink Pink drinks' date=' and real ASGR Team members dont stop at waterpoints!!

You stop when you puncture, and there is more than 10k's left, otherwise you ride on the rim to the finish

You stop to get up after you took a tumble

You stop after crossing the finish line

Do you understand - AND remember - I am watching you!

You forgot one. You stop to help the well endowed blonde fix her puncture after you have stopped twice at the water points so your race is stuffed anyway smiley4.gif.

IanJ...TCS... Team Chick Spotters?!

Sorry' date=' could not resist!

That's ok, beats Cough Syrup and worse, that we have been called.

There was some spotting to be done at the Creamy Tart this past weekend, you should have come.