Hi

I have been using the "Ghetto" method for some time now on standard rims without any major issues.

Will the Ghetto system work on a UST rim (namely Mavic XM819)

Before you ask why ghetto on a UST rim??

The reason for this is to save on cost of purchasing UST  tyres?

Ask XTC1, he did it this weekend with, up to now, no problems. As far as I can figure you will not need the rim strip on UST rims. So you pop on the tire, gooi the sealant, set the bead and Bob is your tannie's husband.

You shouldn't need ghetto anything, just some sealant.

Dunno if the bead of a 'normal' tyre is different to that of a UST.

Yip, well that is the way XTC1 did it this weekend. Hopefully he will chime in.

The only difference between a UST and standard rim is that the UST rim has either covered and sealed spoke holes or no spoke holes in the tyre bed.

Non UST tyres with a ghetto conversion will therefore work on a UST rim.

Di - ghetto conversions imply that you've cut an 20 inch tube open like a flecked snoek and used that as a rim strip instead of a Stan's strip that costs R200 or so.

A real ghetto conversion also uses some home-make concoction instead of commercial snot.

Sp you are saying that you can seal a regular tyre on a ust rim without the rim strip?

Yes you can.

The rim strip is there only to prevent the sealant from getting into the spoke holes. With a UST rim, you don't have spoke holes so therefore you don't need a rim strip !

In fact in a normal rim, one only needs a proper PVC tape to seal the spoke holes and a tubeless valve.

You dont need to Ghetto anything, if it is a tubeless rim you add sealant and off you go. The bead should seat fine. Search on the web, some non UST tires have very soft sidewalls and aren't recommended to be used as tubeless, you can do it with most though. Do a search on tubeless conversion on theHub or on the Web and you'll find a wealth of info.

The only difference between a UST and standard rim is that the UST rim has either covered and sealed spoke holes or no spoke holes in the tyre bed.

Non UST tyres with a ghetto conversion will therefore work on a UST rim.

Di - ghetto conversions imply that you've cut an 20 inch tube open like a flecked snoek and used that as a rim strip instead of a Stan's strip that costs R200 or so.

A real ghetto conversion also uses some home-make concoction instead of commercial snot.

Oi Sir you refer to my Oom Ben's Ghetto Tjoopless as flecked snoek and commercial snot yoh Ouch

Aag man, hier of die flats noem onse mense 'n spaide 'n spaide en snot bly sommer snot, no matter dat die van America afkomstig is. Dit lyk soe, dit voel soe en dit gly soe.

Daai tjoep, as jy hom soe oepsny, dan lyk hy dam baie vir my soes in  oepgeflekte snoek.

Aag man' date=' hier of die flats noem onse mense 'n spaide 'n spaide en snot bly sommer snot, no matter dat die van America afkomstig is. Dit lyk soe, dit voel soe en dit gly soe.

Daai tjoep, as jy hom soe oepsny, dan lyk hy dam baie vir my soes in  oepgeflekte snoek.

dis net verkeerd se ek!! 'n Gautie kan nie maak of hulle soos die kapies kan praat nie. Dis net verkeerd. En dan se die ander kapies ook nog niks!