Bokke is down to earth with a HUGE thud...

The All Blacks is not Wales, Italy, etc. They are the worlds no 1 rated team, and anybody hoping to beat them must bring their A game. Only watched the second half (of which I deduced was the "better" of the two for the Boks) and they were not on their top form.

Ah well, there is always next week. Let's hope they've learned from this match, dropped the ego's a notch or two, and came back fighting the next game.

GO BOKKE!!!!

• Replies 76

I dont like Bakkies either, and in no way is what he did excusable. My biggest problem is that the same incidents happen especially when in a foreign country, its normally a foreign director controlling the incidents you see. There were a couple of incidents for which NZ players needed to be sighted for, but alas, they were never segmented and played back to the public. The other problem i have with rugby is that Bakkies will probably get a 6 week suspension where if any NZ or AUS player did the same thing either nothing would happen or they would get a 1 game suspension.

and by the way John Smith should be sent packing, Victor was left to capatain the team while Smith did no captancy while on the field, and he has gotten so fat and overwheight its scary.

I fear that players with Disciplinary problems / reputations may be a liability during the world cup. What happens if Bakkies Botha gets suspended for 8 weeks during the WC? We will be without a key player for the rest of the tournament. As much as I like Bekker as a player, I don't think he should be in the starting line-up. At this stage it will go to Danie Rossouw in my starting 15. I agree that Smith may have to stand aside for new blood. Make him part of the management team to retain his rugby brain. He must have one, we would not have won the last WC with a moron for a captain.

The biggest problem with our rugby is Mr "Experiment" de Villiers . Instead of playing with our "A-Team" against sides such as Italy before important games, they give our "B" and "C" team players a chance.How the hell must out players "gel" and get to know each other before important games?

I like Pieter's strategy of creating depth in the Springbok squad.

In the long-term, read here World Cup, it will be a great variable in successive trophy wins.

:)

I can't also help but thinking that the enormity of the Soccer World Cup in South Africa had great distraction value for these guys.

Yes, I know, professionals should be focused on the task at hand. But the SWC is a once-in-a-lifetime sporting event for Mzansi.

:)

Guest Big H

I fear that players with Disciplinary problems / reputations may be a liability during the world cup. What happens if Bakkies Botha gets suspended for 8 weeks during the WC? We will be without a key player for the rest of the tournament. As much as I like Bekker as a player, I don't think he should be in the starting line-up. At this stage it will go to Danie Rossouw in my starting 15. I agree that Smith may have to stand aside for new blood. Make him part of the management team to retain his rugby brain. He must have one, we would not have won the last WC with a moron for a captain.

Go and read the book "Captain in the Cauldron" and see what a good guy John Smit really is....... you will also learn quite a few other thing for example what a jerk Puke Watson is.

Read the book - good guy sure, but everyone has a sell-by date. Good to see that you took your Blue Bull goggles off and didn't try to come up for kakkies botha. ;)

I agree with the sentiments above here by BigH. An earlier post saya that what Bakkies did was part of rugby - you could not be more wrong. Retaliation is illegal, as is pulling a man's jersey. Two wrongs do not make a right (3 lefts sometimes make a right, but that is another story). I must be honest though, I am not sure whether Bakkies suffers from ill discipline or lack of discipline. Perhaps, as mentioned earlier, he just is not too bright. Whatever the reason though, he cannot safely be selected because of the points he could cost us and the selection problems that may arise from suspensions "earned". I just do not trust him to not get into trouble.

Guest Big H

John Smit chooses Bakkies as his no4 in his team in his book "Captain in the Cauldron", and I quote from it.....

"Stu Dickenson warned Bakkies three times during a Test at Kings Park for overly robust play and when he overstepped the mark once more after about 25 minutes, the Ref called me over for a chat "John this man has been in trouble since the first minute, he has been hovering on the edge of illegal play all day and is now very close to getting a Yellow card if he transgresses one more time!" As I was about to offer a few diplomatic words to calm the situation, Bakkies chirped from behind in his best English, "Excuse me Sir, but you must know...... I like living on the edge!!!!" Dickenson actually smiled and Bakkies probably avoided a card through that ice-breaker."

That was then and unfortunately Bakkies who was with Matfield the best lock pair in the world, who has brought good play to all of us, has now become a liability, a habitual transgressor..... I think his glory days are over.

The broad who described him as "dumb" is most likely a butt ugly "kloosterkoek" who secretly desired his bod!!!!!!!

today was a clear case of "the beetle falling off the cork!"

hahaha did you see the lump on his head after?

" i am going to get that man....then...i are going to get his hemp and frow him with the floor and then...i are going to be head butting him from the rear!"

ahahaha what a pearl!

@mark Ellis................. TOO FUNNY!

look..... reading through the posts.... disagree and agree with most. Is Bakkies a good player.... YES. Is he undamnpredictable... YES. has he got a temper problem..... let's say i will not meet him in a dark alley and call his mother anything but the best looking woman in the world!!!!

Nevertheless he is a good player, with a damn temper problem. But being psyched up at the beginning of the game can make you all sorts of dumb.

Should the card be awarded ........ hell no. No warning, nothing. just a straight yellow for basically the first incident of the game. Poor.

Maybe this loss is what the bokke need. see where they fall short and pull it together.. this is where the prep for next year starts.

PLEASE............. get rid of little baracka Januarie..... pa-thetic! fourie / ruan. end of story.

look..... reading through the posts.... disagree and agree with most. Is Bakkies a good player.... YES. Is he undamnpredictable... YES. has he got a temper problem..... let's say i will not meet him in a dark alley and call his mother anything but the best looking woman in the world!!!!

Nevertheless he is a good player, with a damn temper problem. But being psyched up at the beginning of the game can make you all sorts of dumb.

Should the card be awarded ........ hell no. No warning, nothing. just a straight yellow for basically the first incident of the game. Poor.

Maybe this loss is what the bokke need. see where they fall short and pull it together.. this is where the prep for next year starts.

PLEASE............. get rid of little baracka Januarie..... pa-thetic! fourie / ruan. end of story.

i agree, he is dam good, remember when skulk went through the same patch, giving away penalties like a short skirted girl gives her happiness away on point rd!

he reminds me of Lennie from the book "of mice and men".....an arb comment I know but those who have read the book or watched the movie will know where I am going with it!

post-10432-089275700 1278794748.jpg

hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. funny you say that... started reading the book the other day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh schalki schalki schalki... exactly. Same thing. Bakkies does need to chill though.... but doubt it. We need a trigger happy general.

I hope the all blacks peak this year and coach DeVilliers - i mean Muir stick with the side and get the okes to gel for next year and take it back to back.

I think Jake White needs to get into some consulting.

PS........... so glad the dodgy round ball is changing for the oval one!

FIFA WC 2010... feel it! Tomorrow it's OVER.

GO ORANJE!