Hi

Why has the race calendar changed for 2011 - what I mean is why are the events now split over 2 days.

Saturday the marathon and Sunday the half marathon.

Is it just a question of logistics or is there a bit of greed involved here?

Getting more people on the course?

For races like Sabie, Clarence etc. it makes the travelling and stays rather crappy.

If you want to do the 1/2 marathon you have to travel there on the Saturday do the race and then pack your stuff up after the race and drive back - not a fun prospect.

Especially if you are camping.

Sabie used to be fun - leave on a Friday, do the race on the Saturday and have a leisurely drive back on the Sunday - have a good night’s rest and back to work on Monday.

With the new format you will end up doing the race packing up and driving back the same day (Sunday) to be back at work on Monday.

This almost forces people like me - to now jump to the marathon group.

So if the plan was to thin out the field on the day - all that will now happen is that you could end up with people that were coping with the 1/2 marathon starting to get in the middle of the marathon group.

The people that ride hard and only do marathons end up with slower people that don’t really want to be there clogging up the course.

Thereby creating an even bigger problem in my opinion.

Look forward to the replies.

• Replies 33

Spoke with them last week,

It has to do with Nissan coming on board as sponser for the 1/2 marathon and not wanting to have a clash with MTN. They say that it will be tried for the first couple of races, if it does not work then they may look at going back to what it was and making a plan for different starts finishes?

Thanks for the reply,

Pity though seeing as Clarence and Sabie are among the first races and those will be the ones that will be affected.

Can also imagine that the money generated from people traveling to these places will take a knock.

Instead of staying for two nights it now becomes one night stays.

Clearly they thought long and hard about this (Sarc)

As a resulot of them splitting the dates we have decided to skip the MTN series this year.

Should the format revert back to the previous type, we will start participating again.

Tim Fair wrote on another thread:

"•Support cycling retailers by giving them a opportunity to display their wares at the events.

•Sponsors get more exposure for longer (no sponsor = no race)

•Local towns benefit more from the races"

There is definitely money involved, but the question that begs to be asked is "Who benefits the most?"

Not the riders, as they have extra expenses incurred.

Many families have some people riding both the marathon and half marathon.

Extra day means more expenses for longer accomodation, food, etc.

Just my 1,000,000 Zim dollar worth.

I am not happy about it either. But it gives the better half a chance to catch up on his training for Joberg2c. He rides the marathon on Sat and then the 1/2 with me on Sun. I just wish they'd be a bit more generous on the discount for riders doing both full and 1/2 events).

Most guest houses charge for the weekend, so we're there until sunday either way. But driving back to jhb after the race, my legs and behind will complain for sure.

I am at this point thinking of joining Pezulu and just not entering.

There are plenty other races.

I just hate it when money becomes the factor driving everything.

Last year was enjoyable as it was a weekend away to do a race and relax at the same time.

But I am not keen on doing a race, packing up and driving back for 3 hours plus to be back at work monday.

So voting with the feet then.

Yeah, another issue I have is that I have friends riding the half marathon. We used to get ready together, go to the line together (and beacuse they are slowish) finish roughly together. Have a lekker braai and chill for the arvie, and take a chilled trip home on the sunday, sometimes stopping at some touristy places. Now, we going to do none of those things together. Kinda defeats all the fun.

They say that they will get more exposure, but if less people come, they won't get more exposure

To me it sounds like the only people benifiting are those entering both races.

• 1 month later...

I enjoy the new format!

In Clarens I did the marathon on Saturday and was enterred for the half marathon on Sunday - didn't end up riding because my bike was filthy and I was too buggered to wash it - that was a toughie.

Instead I went for breakfast at a cafe on the starting line and watched and cheered the half marathoners on.

It's still a fun weekend away but now you have the opportunity to ride 2 races in one weekend - brilliant!

Plus they give you a discount for doing both.

Viva the split viva :clap:

I enjoy the new format!

In Clarens I did the marathon on Saturday and was enterred for the half marathon on Sunday - didn't end up riding because my bike was filthy and I was too buggered to wash it - that was a toughie.

Instead I went for breakfast at a cafe on the starting line and watched and cheered the half marathoners on.

It's still a fun weekend away but now you have the opportunity to ride 2 races in one weekend - brilliant!

Plus they give you a discount for doing both.

Viva the split viva :clap:

+1

whats with the DNF and DNS ? ;)

+1

whats with the DNF and DNS ? ;)

DNF - going great guns until I sliced my sidewall at 65km on Saturday. Then limped home pomp and ride pomp and ride pomp and ride - repeat until pump breaks. Throw hissy fit of not in national park and ride last 10km on a 1 bar wheel. Ah what fun :D

DNS - I was so gatvol of mud I slept late - 4 weeks in a row of siff mud and *** all over me and bike. I hosed the bike and myself down in the hotel parking lot then packed it in the car and didn't look at it again until today. Full service and ready to ride again...

If it rains between now and Sunday I aint going outside ever again!!!!!!

All lovely and fine for the folks that want (and are able to) do both races from a physical and financial perspective.

From a financial perspective have two out of town races in the same month is absurd.

Take a normal family of 3 - if you are not camping it will set you back 3k for the weekend.

This does not include the fuel to get there. So for the 2 races this is 6k.

I am happy for the folks that have this kind of money to spend on a sport every month.

But unfortunately not everyone has that kind of money.

I can only hope that the entries have come down significantly so that the organizers realize the folly of their ways.

Fortunately there are other races to enter and other places to ride.

So I for one will vote with my feet and enter other races and see other places.

DNF - going great guns until I sliced my sidewall at 65km on Saturday. Then limped home pomp and ride pomp and ride pomp and ride - repeat until pump breaks. Throw hissy fit of not in national park and ride last 10km on a 1 bar wheel. Ah what fun :D

DNS - I was so gatvol of mud I slept late - 4 weeks in a row of siff mud and *** all over me and bike. I hosed the bike and myself down in the hotel parking lot then packed it in the car and didn't look at it again until today. Full service and ready to ride again...

If it rains between now and Sunday I aint going outside ever again!!!!!!

ag, that a lekke crap way to end a race. that new bike of yours is getting a heavy intro to the racing scene!!

btw, i know why there was so little grass left on the Sasol tri mtb course...you had it all nicely wraped in your rear deraileur :b

we're heading down to sabie for the weekend...probably another mudfest!

All lovely and fine for the folks that want (and are able to) do both races from a physical and financial perspective.

From a financial perspective have two out of town races in the same month is absurd.

Take a normal family of 3 - if you are not camping it will set you back 3k for the weekend.

This does not include the fuel to get there. So for the 2 races this is 6k.

I am happy for the folks that have this kind of money to spend on a sport every month.

But unfortunately not everyone has that kind of money.

I can only hope that the entries have come down significantly so that the organizers realize the folly of their ways.

Fortunately there are other races to enter and other places to ride.

So I for one will vote with my feet and enter other races and see other places.

Geez, HTFU. Then go to just one of the out of town races. Everyone has their own budget but you need not splash yours all over the HUB. The point is, the MTN events are better organised than most, have a great vibe and are professional in the extreme. That is why you would rather do THEM. And with the new format there are definitely pro's and a few con's involved - but don't focus on the negative so much. You're ruining it for the rest of us.

If we continue with the way its run, I;m not sure it will benefit all, The towns dont get much income as most shops are closed on Sundays, the entrants get home stuffed and the school work surely gets the back seat, BUT, have you thought of the seperate TV coverage the Half Marathon gets from Pedal Talk. I think its GREAT. My only problem is that the sponsors(who we all need) want to have the Kids,Half Marathon people on the front of the start line getting TV time and not the big guns that had their day the day before on the front line. I propose we give the kids a fair chance along with the sponsors and Boy, our sport will grow, be it Sat or Sunday