MTB vs Road Bike

saaymac

Hi...

I'm pretty new to cycling and attempting to finish the Argus this year, only got half way last year and bailed! I did all my training for this year on a pretty heavy MTB. What I want to know is would it be to my detriment if I went out and I buy a road bike tomorrow and attempt the Argus on that?

Ta

quite possibly - if your body isn't used to the position on your new road bike, or if it isn't the right fit for you, it could end up ruining your ride.

If, however, you get a bike that fits properly, and is your size and you are comfortable on it, the benefits of the lighter frame and whole package will help you do a much faster time. Just remember that you won't be used to the position on the bike, so you could get a few pains in the back or shoulders...

Why now and not a month ago but most likely yes.

go ride it around before the argus. get a few buddies to go with you so that you can proctise handling hte bike, it's a little different from the one you're used to. also a bit more sensitive to cat-eyes and debris lying around, and i found the tubes far more difficult to change than mtb.

slicks on your heavy MTB would go a long way, but a raodie bike would be faster if there's no accidents or flat tyres.

Thx gents will sleep on it and see what I feel like when I wake up tomorrow! @ gummibear a month ago I was not sure I want to do the Argus but now trainig was good and I'm enjoying getting on the bike and riding, so I guess I wanted to see if I wanna take up cycling as a hobby/sport etc

Ta :clap:

saaymac - rather stick with the bike you know; your body knows it and it will be more comfortable, plus the gearing is milder.

After the Argus, there are great "end of season sales" so you should be able to make a good buy if you still want a road bike.

saaymac - rather stick with the bike you know; your body knows it and it will be more comfortable, plus the gearing is milder.