Resting heart rate

Ive been MTBing for about 5 months now. In the beginning I could only manage a little ride on a Saturday. After a while I could do Sat plus Sunday. Now I do 5 hours on the week-end plus spinning interval training once a week in the week. Every month I am slowly getting faster and stronger. Im 41 year of age, My resting HR started at close to 80 and dropped to 64 after 3 months. For the last 2 months its still 64 even though Im getting stronger and faster.

What determines resting heart rate? What type of training will this drop a bit more? How important is resting HR in determining fitness?

Resting Hr is an indication of efficiency!

You hart now pumps more blood/volume per stroke - thus less effort to get the same result.

Resting HR is not the alpha & omega but is a good indication - keep in mind that genetics still play a huge roll.

Use your RHR as an indication of over training or on coming illness. If you RHR jumps by more than 6 - 8 over 2 days, you might be getting sick or over training.

Dont sweat the small stuff - its a guideline not a rule set in stone.

Good to hear you are making improvements - that is the biggest factor - enjoy your training and everything else will follow!

After reading through all the good (and bad) info out there on RHR, MHR and the different formula's used to calculate whatever, it sounds like it's not a precise science and, when cornered, the experts will use the "it's probably just genetics" get-out-of-lecture-without-looking-like-a-timewasting-twat card.

Don't read too much into it and just enjoy your bike. It sounds like you've made some great improvements already, so as long as you're still having fun you're doing it right.

Haha Chris - ek het eenkeer my HR gemeet in vlug en selfs in 'n rowwe thermal was dit maar dieselle as om vinnig te stap. Ek vlieg al 20 jaar en het verseker nie maar geword van in 'n harnas sit nie. Cheers Robo