stripped crank or BB or something like that.

mix

hey Guys and Girls.

so i have a problem that im sure is pretty common or at least has happened in the past to a few of you, i went out for a ride yesterday and nearing the end of my ride for the second time my left arm on my crank fell off, now the bb is stripped apparently, it is not an octalink it is a square join (i realise at this point im sounding useless and extremely ignorant of the topic, YES im a complete Newbie) anyway so this is the second time it has happened i took it to my LBS and they said they will have a look and see what i need to replace, crankset and bb were mentioned.

now i dont want to be ripped off by these guys, so please can you tell me what i should do and what needs to be done also what BB i should get if i do need one and so on and so forth. Obviously i dont want to spend a large amount of dolla.

Oh my bike is a Merida matts 400d xc.

i would really appreciate help and mockery is only tollerated if i get help :) thanks.

No worries mix...

Can you tell us how the crank fell off? Normally, there's a bolt that fastens the crank itself to the Bottom bracket, and unless that fails (strips or just plain shears off) the crank shouldn't come "off" perse. Another way that it could have failed is that the BB shaft would have sheared off. I find that very hard to imagine, which is why I'm going to rule that bit out.

I'm going to assume that the bolt that fastens the crank to the BB spindle (the square bolt-like thing that the cranks atttach to) was either over-tightened and stripped, or that the BB / fastening bolt had some sort of structural fault which enabled the stripping to occur int he first place. Another thing that could have happened was that the bolt WASN'T tightened, which would have enabled the bolt to work itself loose over rough terrain, thus allowing the crank to fall off.