Am I ready for a Powermeter

Oltremo

Hi,

I have been cycling consistently for close on 2 years now. Over the last year I have used a well structured training plan, averaged 10-12 hr per week (excl every third rest week +-8hr). Over the 2 years I have progresed to PPA Group G, and aim for a sub 3 Argus 2012. Further ambitions are to qualify for league etc. I am in the 40-44 age group. All in all, moving along steadily in a structured (road sport cycling) manner.

Now I am pondering whether the time is right for me to acquire a power meter (training till now has been hr based - logged sessions on TP etc)

I know that training with a Power meter will yield results, as will training without a power meter. But can I expect substantially better results with one?

Would like to hear what persons training with power meters have to say?

Do any of you regret the cost incurred?

Had a power meter for a year and would never look back!

But you still need the mental to stay focused and a good coach to help you understand how to use it effectivley.

go for it!! You won't regret the purchase, we spend all this money on extra bikes, wheels, lighter group sets...but not on our own development!

I am a total bike slut,probably owned well over 80 bikes of all brands and to date.A powermeter is the best money i have ever spent.If you are married and have kids like me and you are pressed for time it's the only way to go.I now ride less and am stronger than before.I ride league(vets,middle of the bunch finnisher)and train between 6-8 hrs week.Powermeter with windtrainer is all you need.Just be prepared for some pain.Quarq with garmin 500 is what i would recomend

Edited by stringbean