320km Ride - Any tips?

Stuart Queripel

Hi All

Next Monday 5 December I will be joining about 30 other riders doing the 320km Charity Ride from Little Switzerland in the Berg to Durban... Its a one day - 12hr + ride...

I have been putting in the training over the past 8 weeks... 3 x 45km + rides during the week and a long one + 100km's on the weekend... Im feeling strong but i have never ridden for more than 6 / 7hrs...

This is not a race, its a ride with frequent stops to take on refreshments, stretch the legs and rest...

Any tips on long distance road riding? What should i be taking on - liquids / food...

• Replies 40

For the first 250 kms take on carbs. After that your body will not be able to process it in time for it to be of any use for you. Stay hydrated. Take some salt tablets with. They help with cramping. You can buy them in any pharmacy. LOTS of chamois cream.

Enjoy the ride and be safe.

Look forward to the post race report.

Man this sounds lekker. Always great to see how far the human body can be pushed. Enjoy!. Wish I could ride it

Chamois Cream. Trust me.

Once a year mates and I also do a charity ride, usually ends up being around 460km.

If you can't sit down, you can't pedal. Chamois cream.

Eat lots!

1) It is low intensity, so you should be able to digest quite a lot of things with out trouble. But remember, don't try anything new on race day.

2) Think of how many meals you would have eaten in that 12hour period if you were lounging around the house. You now have to eat that amount, plus the energy that you are using up while riding. Ok, I'm exaggerating a little, but the point is you have to eat lunch etc as well as you race fuel.

Start eating from 20 minutes into the ride and don't stop. Look to take in +-300 cals an hour from gels,bars, chews etc while you are riding plus whatever they give you to eat when you stop along the way. Maybe think of a few savory snacks as well like salted peanuts or whatever as you will eventualy get very sick of sweet stuff. Whatever you do don't wait until you feel hungry or tired before you eat as then it will be too late.

For the first 250 kms take on carbs. After that your body will not be able to process it in time for it to be of any use for you. Stay hydrated. Take some salt tablets with. They help with cramping. You can buy them in any pharmacy. LOTS of chamois cream.

Enjoy the ride and be safe.

Look forward to the post race report.

I have completed a number of Audax rides > 200 km, with the longest being 430 km - all in one go.

A few pointers:

Agree 100% that you need to stay hydrated - use your normal race fuel, but watered down fruit juice might help for variety. I get gatvol of Fit and Hammer after a while. Watered down coke working stunningly well - 50:50 mixture - just let out the fizz 1st!!

You can take on carbs up until the end

Take on proteien too - flavoured milk and Yogi-sips works wonderfully - normally I drink this during rest stops.

Dried fruit mixed with nuts also gives a nice carb/proteien balance

Eat often and in small amounts

Bananas are also a great source of food

Don't eat heavy/fatty foods - you DO NOT want to upset your tummy!!

CONTROL YOUR HEART RATE - hope you ride with a HRM. I don't go into the red zone at all - so you shouldn't have any issue with cramping.

Get off the bike every 50-70 km - will help your bum and will relax your neck and arms, and your hands

Try not to ride alone - rather ride slower with a friend than faster alone - unless you are used to riding alone

Have loads of fun!!!!!!

Thanks guys... Keep the advise coming....

1. Chamois Cream

2. Salt Tablets

3. Salted Peanuts / Dried Fruit

4. Milkshakes / Yogi Sips

I will ride with FIT Carbo Supreme in my bottles... Do you suggest i have a 100% Protein Shake 150km's or so into the ride?

I have completed a number of Audax rides > 200 km, with the longest being 430 km - all in one go.

A few pointers:

Agree 100% that you need to stay hydrated - use your normal race fuel, but watered down fruit juice might help for variety. I get gatvol of Fit and Hammer after a while. Watered down coke working stunningly well - 50:50 mixture - just let out the fizz 1st!!

Take on proteien too - flavoured milk and Yogi-sips works wonderfully - normally I drink this during rest stops.

CONTROL YOUR HEART RATE - hope you ride with a HRM. I don't go into the red zone at all - so you shouldn't have any issue with cramping.

Get off the bike every 50-70 km - will help your bum and will relax your neck and arms, and your hands

Try not to ride alone - rather ride slower with a friend than faster alone - unless you are used to riding alone

Have loads of fun!!!!!!

listen to this okes advice ..... he and his bike are very intimate friends .....they round around paris or something.

Everything above plus,

The first few hours you must say these words out loud CONSERVE CONSERVE CONSERVE

Its all about energy conservation. The wall will come, eventually, you just have to play your cards right that it only comes toward the end.

Eat before you hungry, drink before you thirsty.

Take in the scenery, sounds like it will be a beautiful route.

A few pointers:

Have loads of fun!!!!!!

Hi Underachiever. Just a question and please don't take this as anything but that. Why would you need carbs till the end? Surely your body is just burning energy trying to digest it in your stomach? As I understand it it takes your body +- 2 hours to convert food into something that you can use. He is not doing a multi stage event so no need to top up his carbs. Hope the qusestion makes sence.

listen to this okes advice ..... he and his bike are very intimate friends .....they round around paris or something.

Ha, ha, ha!!!

Wish I was part of PBP this year, but for now 1200 km on a bicycle is too far for my brain to comprehend - I needs more time get mentally that tough/crazy!!

The 430 km on my MTB earlier this year was enough craziness for a while!! The ride was comfy though!!

Hey, big respect to you for doing this! This kind of event is on my bucket list.

I wish you lots of fun!

A few pointers:

Have loads of fun!!!!!!

Stu - all good advice here.

Careful at the feed zones - these guys lay on a real feast - don't overeat

Don't go to fast - especially at the beginning - you have some BIG hills to contend with

If possible ride with the first / slow batch

Enjoy the escort by the cops into Durban during rush hour - it's a blast