I had my sub-3 shattered 5km into the race, went off in VA group but they made us ride with the Elites, 5km into the race there was a huge accident across all 4 lanes which I got caught behind, was chasing the bunch from there for the next 104km, cramped so badly at the end couldn't turn my pedals for the last 10 km, rode 3:03, super peeved.

• Replies 81

you and MTB_Roadie (as far as I know)

Now you have to remind me? Anyone wanting to buy a Fondriest TF2.... *sigh* I can't believe it, our bunch sucked tho, cross lining like beginners, not working together, not sure what was wrong with C comparing to last year....me and Zac caught loads off people, I got stuck behind back markers on chappies that is where I lost Zac and missed out on my Sub 3 by like 40seconds!!! :(

Edited by MTB_Roadie

So, no riding at all since last year's Argus? Breaks out singing "How the hell can we believe you?"

I think Josh asked a valid question....

My last race was engen dynamic in August, and before that 2011 argus. My little girl is now 8mths old so haven't had much time to train. If you think I'm bs'ing I'll post my training logs

Edited by fandacious

Now you have to remind me? Anyone wanting to buy a Fondriest TF2.... *sigh* I can't believe it, our bunch sucked tho, cross lining like beginners, not working together, not sure what was wrong with C comparing to last year....me and Zac caught loads off people, I got stuck behind back markers on chappies that is where I lost Zac and missed out on my Sub 3 by like 40seconds!!! :(

Just have to say with regards to this that a large percentage of the B riders we caught, and I think we caught a fair amount, (Racetec down, so not an exact number) were extremely inconsiderate!

We caught some lone riders from wynberg hill and then a few km's before smits we caught a relatively big B group, usually it wouldn't be a problem but our group had almost 100% of the starters and the B group wouldn't move over to the left, so brakes screeched, I actually saw some smoke coming of a guys tyre!

Same story up chappies, people that are dropped must ride on the left.

I think everybody was expecting a free ride, which sucked.

Group was also too big, 330 odd.

Unlucky Johan, but I'm sure you'll get it next year.

We can do some hill sprints before then and break away in the race :thumbup:

Agree. Three weeks prior?? Seriously...

Unless you're neglecting to mention some cross-training, or that one of your parents was a previous le Tour winner...

Just a note. Those 560km of training that I did were NOT Sunday rides. Pretty much 50-80km 3 or 4 times a week as hard and as fast as you can. Hammer the flats, hammer the climbs, hammer the downhills.

Train hard, recover hard,

Rinse repeat

But yes. This year I'll be riding spring and summer league again so I won't suffer as much in next years ACT

I speak under correction, but the guy on the 29er stayed with the VB break group until Suikerbossie, where I passed him, and did not see him come pass me at any point, unless he took a ride on the beach. He was really strong, but then again, it was a S-Works Epic, and not just any 29er!

There were 2 guys on 29ers in VB. Billy Stelling and Andreas Studer. Andreas stayed there till the end. 2H 52min. Hats off!!

I had my sub-3 shattered 5km into the race, went off in VA group but they made us ride with the Elites, 5km into the race there was a huge accident across all 4 lanes which I got caught behind, was chasing the bunch from there for the next 104km, cramped so badly at the end couldn't turn my pedals for the last 10 km, rode 3:03, super peeved.

Sux dude!

Jammer boet :(

Thanks Spark for the kind words, Traut - the specialised had no chance againts the hardtail OTEC. 2h52....not bad, 11kg mtb with 2x fast traks and 39 x11 gear ratio,max speed 68, cadence max 126. thanks to the odd push and the kind words of encouragement and respect at the end...just 1 oke bitched " What the f###k r u doing in the bunch" turned round and smiled" to kick your arse" this was with 2km to go...i wasnt going to drop then!

Why people still sprint from 40th position i dont know, 1 guy fell onto my backwheel so hard the wheel got smacked out the lugs, the front skewer got undone and I jumped over the handelbars running on the tar,had i wore road shoes i would have skated twrds the finish!!! I pulled my bike from the masses i saw the arm of a fallen rider stuck btw my fork and wheel,to the elbo...i almost got sick thinking of what could have happened if it was on the rotor side... :excl: eish!!! :excl: I WATCHED an aerial movie off the crash...just bodies everywhere...thnk goodness i had nothing to do with crash, the rants would have been endless!!! :D