[Event] NISSAN TRAILSEEKER #4 Van Gaalens

I agree with everyone that this was the best Nissan of the series so far, by a country mile! This was a proper mountain bike race,not a dirt-road road race like some of the others.

The descents were wicked and definitely caused carnage which I was lucky to escape.

The water points were great and I was glad to see that there were technical assistance teams out there as well. Someone I rode with had a BB unscrew itself and the techy people saved his day.

I would have liked to see more EMS near those sections though, I'm sure many people needed them!

All in all it was a fantastic race, only my 2nd marathon on SS. The loop after the church called for a really big mug of HTFU and I'm sure separated the men from the boys.

4:29:59 came in 1 second faster than my goal, so I'm stoked!

Well done nick....by the way, I could have really done with my new topcap as said point haha

PS Please send me a pm so that I can sort you out....in a good waythumbup1.gif

• Replies 380

Boet I was in a semi coma by then....thought I will be windgat and go singlespeed(32x18) and rigid to boot....very humbling experience. I finished with her and her husband / boyfriend both on rigid SS....she was running 32x16....and climbed alles. Could see you were ready to gooi a vloermoer when the chain came off.

Mr and Mrs Romeo are both very good SS riders and some of the nicest people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting and riding with.

That pink On-One is really nice!

Mr and Mrs Romeo are both very good SS riders and some of the nicest people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting and riding with.

That pink On-One is really nice!

Yea we had a beer together afterwards....very lekker people, and a gas to ride with. I did the whole second half of the race with them.

Can anyone tell me at what distance the log and wire crossing over the river was at on the 70k? My first Nissan Trailseeker ride - it was tough, this one separates the men from the boys!!!! Will be nack next yre but I'll make sure I'm fitter!

It was at about 41km.

644551_10151383098464985_1037557493_n.jpg

The river crossing I have as 41.54km ph34r.png

While there was a perfect little ramp to use on the left.

So I heard, at the finish line!

Some oukie was bathing in the stream, shampoo and all, he showed us the little ramp.

What did they do to you ? Or are you just in a k@k mood?

The usual riding in the middle of the road taking the entire lane up, making it impossible for cars to pass. It was only in a few places, most were riding single file or in two's which is fine, it's those that were riding 3 and 4 that was annoying. I was not in a hurry but at that time those people were not going for a top 10 spot so there wasn't a reason to hog the lane other than to annoy the motorists. Sharing is caring, they can have half the lane and the cars the other half, It's cheating when one party steals the entire lane

erm....lost post in wrong thread?

Some oukie was bathing in the stream, shampoo and all, he showed us the little ramp.

Yesssss. min gespin about these stupid guys riding 70km for fun...body on tap, washing that grey right out of his hair. Classic

Must be, if a car made it down that satellite descent, I will buy 10

That descent - while we are on the subject -----------

Moan On:

Everyone realised that we were too many riders to try and ride it, so a good 15 of us got off the bikes and carried it down, except that ONE dude who thought he could ride it, but ended up flipping over his handlebars 6 times.

EDIT: Moan Off.

clap.gif Was nogals entertaining.clap.gif

Edited by Karma

While there was a perfect little ramp to use on the left.

Yep, that's what my mate said, so we each thought the other had made a wrong turn somewhere!