Cape Town Riders. Submit your TMNP MTB trails. Legal or illegal.

All but one of the supposedly "secret" trails I know of have been mentioned on here. Sigh..

guess they aren't so secret then, perhaps if dress like ninjas (the downhillers try this already) and drag a xmas tree behind us as we ride we could escape detection.
  • Replies 129

Guest Omega Man

guess they aren't so secret then, perhaps if dress like ninjas (the downhillers try this already) and drag a xmas tree behind us as we ride we could escape detection.

haha. Yup. I am a downhiller. The ninja kit is only so that the chicks you ogle can't see how ugly you are. Arriving with 6 bikes on the back of my bakkie and dressing in lumo kit won't help much I'm guessing.

try lycra, chicks dig lycra.
Guest Omega Man

try lycra, chicks dig lycra.

Not when you look like me bru.

No exception taken. This is about including all areas ridden, both the open and the unauthorized trails. This is early days, but once the EMP is signed off , to get San Parks to discuss areas not mentioned in the EMP will involve loads of hoops and hurdles

..and to add to what Rob is saying above (probably said before on the thread), those trails not listed by the time discussions start, are essentially regarded as illegal from that point on. It will be easier to justify what riders are currently using than finding new routes (which will be the steeple chase event), but adding existing unofficial trails after we start the talks will require olympic level gymnastics.

I was a member of Clovelly Golf Club for years and often raced down the sand track in my old Landcruiser to get to my tee off time on time. As far as I know, the property (to where the tar road begins just short of Silvermine Rd) belongs to the Ackerman family and should not be illegal to ride on a bicycle. Can't say 100%, but during my days at the club, it was never an issue.

AFAIK it's not allowed, think it's labelled as such on the slingsby map...might be signage there too at the sunbird centre.

No exception taken. This is about including all areas ridden, both the open and the unauthorized trails. This is early days, but once the EMP is signed off , to get San Parks to discuss areas not mentioned in the EMP will involve loads of hoops and hurdles

oh, in that case I ride in cape point national park. mainly using google earth.

ha ha, that's right.. wear a shirt coz you are about to be on candid camera, unless you have already been snapped Dictator??

post-13110-0-03958500-1346936576.jpg

Edited by Pain or Shine

ha ha, that's right.. wear a shirt coz you are about to be on candid camera, unless you have already been snapped Dictator??

post-13110-0-03958500-1346936576.jpg

easy tiger....there's some weird stuff going on down those parts. I swear this oke is mitch buchanan's oom, even down to the red crocspost-1830-0-43072600-1346941227.jpg

apologies for the uberkak photo, was with a crapberry and i was shaking in my boots

You are correct here, people should not really speak on behalf of others. Having said this, you are aware that Parks own the land. Let me be clear, they OWN the land, that makes them landowners. That means they can do what they want with the land, including getting rid of mountain bikers. A forum, who speak for a group by sheer nature of a forum, have a better chance of keeping access to the land. What you are saying just supports the view that mountain bikers should not have access to the land.

Personally, I find it odd that you believe you have absolute right to access what you want, when you want on the moutain, but the simple fact is that it is not your mountain. It is SANPARKS. Simple.

Hi there,

I am not trying to be obstructive - just trying to clarify something because I think it is important.

I am not sure that this is legally correct your assertion that Sanparks own the land, Sanparks may be the registered title holders of the land, but they most certainly may not do with it as they please, in fact as I understand it they have a specific mandate to protect and conserve the land and within this allow public use of the land in a sustainable manner.

I think part of the problem is that Sanparks are forced to operate as a commercial organisation which is in part in conflict with their mandate, so they give preference to issues which generate revenue in a sustainable manner and those which require priority. Mtb has the potential to generate revenue in a sustainable manner, but at the same time uncontrolled use can lead to lead to negative impact so it is a priority to control it.

An interesting analogy would be that of Chapmans toll plaza, clearly there Sanparks were held to account for acting outside their mandate as custodians of the national park - the fact that the action failed on other grounds is another issue.

I think Rob's approach with Sanparks is the correct one, it requires them to act in the interests of all users, including mtb and to respond to legitimate requests for the use of the park, my point is I dont think they should be dealt with as owners, but rather as an organisation representing us as the public, they should be held to account and be dealt with firmly - but we also need to bear in mind that we are not the only land users with a legitimate claim and our requests need to be balanced within the broader mandate they have.

My 2cents worth.

Keep up the good work Rob

Hi there,

I am not trying to be obstructive - just trying to clarify something because I think it is important.

I am not sure that this is legally correct your assertion that Sanparks own the land, Sanparks may be the registered title holders of the land, but they most certainly may not do with it as they please, in fact as I understand it they have a specific mandate to protect and conserve the land and within this allow public use of the land in a sustainable manner.

I think part of the problem is that Sanparks are forced to operate as a commercial organisation which is in part in conflict with their mandate, so they give preference to issues which generate revenue in a sustainable manner and those which require priority. Mtb has the potential to generate revenue in a sustainable manner, but at the same time uncontrolled use can lead to lead to negative impact so it is a priority to control it.

An interesting analogy would be that of Chapmans toll plaza, clearly there Sanparks were held to account for acting outside their mandate as custodians of the national park - the fact that the action failed on other grounds is another issue.

I think Rob's approach with Sanparks is the correct one, it requires them to act in the interests of all users, including mtb and to respond to legitimate requests for the use of the park, my point is I dont think they should be dealt with as owners, but rather as an organisation representing us as the public, they should be held to account and be dealt with firmly - but we also need to bear in mind that we are not the only land users with a legitimate claim and our requests need to be balanced within the broader mandate they have.

My 2cents worth.

Keep up the good work Rob

You missed the context of what I was trying to say. So I clarify. SANPARKS own the land. They can do with it what they please and want to keep it protected and conserved. If in their considered opinion that means getting rid of mtn bikers because they do what they please on secret trails and build where they are not supposed to, they will get rid of mtn bikers. Simple.

Edit: and this is where a forum comes in, such as what these guys have been doing. Long may the forum last! Dont want any more of you table mountain lot trekking past the airport to come to the decent land of the west. To ride your bikes that it is :P