Berg Man, I don't see that as a dig at all. But you have to remember that not all of us are able to balance our lives in the same fashion. I, for instance, have a very short reward pathway, so I can very quickly stray off the beaten path if something provides me with any kind of reward. That is why I am advocating a fairly strict adherence to LCHF, otherwise I would most certainly slip into comfort food land in no time.

But, we (those who have been doing LCHF for a while) need to ask one question : "Has it improved ANYTHING regarding your health AT ALL ?"

I can throw out a list of things that have improved since on LCHF, and apart from the spurious heart rate, I have not had any ill effects. I do think that too many people try LCHF as a quick fix for weight loss, and not for health reasons, and you know what, that will fail in the same way that any fad diet will fail.

Having said the above, I could probably also argue that the mere fact that I am not consuming any grains have had an enormous range of benefits, ranging from gut to blood glucose improvements. And that is JUST cutting out the wheat. Start adding refined sugars, etc and suddenly there's my list. Does this mean that I HAVE to be in strict LCHF mode all the time - heck, NO. There's a whole spread of low-carb options to enjoy and you don't have to beat yourself up with the details.

At this point it sounds as if I am being defensive - that's not what I am trying to do. I am agreeing with you, but I am saying that not all of us are strong-willed and some of us (moi) have to focus on the little details in order to manage the big picture. In the longer run, if the "new science" about LCHF turns out to be incorrect, at least I will be able to say that I enjoyed my food and my health in a whole new way ! :D

Namaste.

I think I am the same that way :blush: . I bring all this up because I have spoken to a lot of people and the 1 thing that seems to come up all the time is that LCHF is too analytical and difficult to do

• Replies 4.6k

I think I am the same that way :blush: . I bring all this up because I have spoken to a lot of people and the 1 thing that seems to come up all the time is that LCHF is too analytical and difficult to do

Agree, but then I always refer people to the link below. If they still can't do LCHF after that, then I give up :)

http://www.dietdoctor.com/lchf

An interesting thing I've noticed after adding more fat to my diet.

Joburg is dry in winter. For you Capies I don't mean merely that it doesn't rain. I mean it is DRY. You open a packet of crisps and 10 minutes later they are more crunchy. Rusks turn to powder. The effect of that is dry skin. Particularly as you get older. I used to get so dry my skin would become red and burn. Since adding more fats to my diet this is not nearly as severe. Also my joints are smoother and easier to move.

Started this morning adding coconut oil to my porridge. Dam that is tasty. Sorry about bringing that up in front of guys on strict low carb. I have managed to merely reduce carbs a little and up fats a bit and I'm doing fine. Weight very stable and energy very steady. That's the version of this diet that works for me. We are all somewhere on the curve I guess

Doing a road trip to JNB on Sunday (the second trip by car in a month and I really enjoyed the drive and the time to clear my mind on the previous one so I am doing it again). I packed some lekker "padkos" on my last trip, except I ended up taking more than 2x the amount that I needed. In colour coded plastic lunchboxes - one filled with droëwors and the other with biltong and kaiings. This goes in my bag during the day as well, so I am never stuck without LCHF options. Just thought that I would show the travellers that it is doable ! For breakfast for the 5 days, I take a litre of cream and enough protein powder for 5 shakes. Simple and takes up minimal space.post-36230-0-28789400-1374267776_thumb.jpg

Enjoy the padkos!

When you buy your cream do you aim to source organic cream? My thinking is that it will have more micronutrients and less PUFA just like with organic grass-fed beef. Same reason Kerrygold is preferred to cheaper butter.

Woolies sell organic cream and butter (250gr @ R25), but I haven't followed up on what they consider to be "fed on an organic feed".

Enjoy the padkos!

When you buy your cream do you aim to source organic cream? My thinking is that it will have more micronutrients and less PUFA just like with organic grass-fed beef. Same reason Kerrygold is preferred to cheaper butter.

Woolies sell organic cream and butter (250gr @ R25), but I haven't followed up on what they consider to be "fed on an organic feed".

I buy from a place called The Dairy Exchange here in the Western Cape - from what I can determine they act as a "co-op" for several small farms. The cream and milk is unbranded and it is def 100% natural (i.e. no emulsifiers or stabilisers added). I was mortified when I bought a small plastic container of commercial cream a while back to taste the difference between that and the natural cream that I am used to - but the label told the story !

Hi

First time for me right on this topic.

I am on lchf for about two months and read all of the topic on this tad.

Got myself BG tester and was a bit worried this morning my BG in the morning was 6.3 fasting (we had gust last night and my wife made some pudding and I could not hold myself ). Had some double cream three eggs and cheese for breakfast and after 1 hour my GB5.6 went for a two hours ride when came back my BG went up to 6.3 no food on the ride only water as I always do.

Had a little rest for about 1.5hours no food only water and BG5.2.

Some one have an idea.

Thanks

Hi

First time for me right on this topic.

I am on lchf for about two months and read all of the topic on this tad.

Got myself BG tester and was a bit worried this morning my BG in the morning was 6.3 fasting (we had gust last night and my wife made some pudding and I could not hold myself ). Had some double cream three eggs and cheese for breakfast and after 1 hour my GB5.6 went for a two hours ride when came back my BG went up to 6.3 no food on the ride only water as I always do.

Had a little rest for about 1.5hours no food only water and BG5.2.

Some one have an idea.

Thanks

Wouldn't be too worried about those readings, as the high fasting reading was probably as a result of your indulging in the pudding (you did not state what the rest of the meal looked like).

Make sure you don't eat anything after 10pm tonight and then test fasting again tomorrow when you get up. If it is in the low 5.x or below, you are good to go.

Wouldn't be too worried about those readings, as the high fasting reading was probably as a result of your indulging in the pudding (you did not state what the rest of the meal looked like).

Make sure you don't eat anything after 10pm tonight and then test fasting again tomorrow when you get up. If it is in the low 5.x or below, you are good to go.

Thanks for your reply I can see why is the high BG in the morning (eat bread risotto and dessert after weeks of not having any sugar or bread) but wonder why it's high after the ride?

Good day out on the bike today, legs hurt but I felt strong. Meals were as follows

Bfast: 40/45g Butter/Coconut oil b-coffee, 2.5 scrambled eggs with chicken, bacon and feta with added butter, olive oil and salt.

Stage 1: SingletrackFuel with choc milk as recovery.

Brunch: 1.5 scrambled eggs as above, droewors and 5g coconut oil.

Stage 2: Epic Pro, Gu, 10g coconut oil (put oil in an empty BG test strip bottle, you can fit 12g in) and choc milk as recovery.

Lunch: 1.5 scrambled eggs as above, droewors, fatty biltong and 10g coconut oil.

Stage 3: Epic Pro, Gu, 10g coconut oil.

Recovery: 2 pieces of boerewors (swapped the roll for extra boerewors :D) and lots of fatty biltong.

My carbo "loading" the day before was about 20g of complex carbs (spinach, lettuce, string beans and a little yellow pepper.)

So in A bunch I came 2nd, 2nd and 1st and took 1st overall. :thumbup:

As the day progressed I felt stronger and stronger while the other guys got weaker and weaker, so much so that I did between a third to a half of stages 3's pacing. Not knowing to what extent the carbs effected my riding though.

post-35204-0-38832800-1374350219_thumb.png

post-35204-0-13352000-1374350369_thumb.png

Edited by Helpmytrap

An interesting thing I've noticed after adding more fat to my diet.

Joburg is dry in winter. For you Capies I don't mean merely that it doesn't rain. I mean it is DRY. You open a packet of crisps and 10 minutes later they are more crunchy. Rusks turn to powder. The effect of that is dry skin. Particularly as you get older. I used to get so dry my skin would become red and burn. Since adding more fats to my diet this is not nearly as severe. Also my joints are smoother and easier to move.

Started this morning adding coconut oil to my porridge. Dam that is tasty. Sorry about bringing that up in front of guys on strict low carb. I have managed to merely reduce carbs a little and up fats a bit and I'm doing fine. Weight very stable and energy very steady. That's the version of this diet that works for me. We are all somewhere on the curve I guess

Yep, I cut the fat shake due to idleness when I restarted my LCHF after a hectic week away with the extended family and I've definitely got the dry skin back, Didn't have it at all while I was fatshaking.

Good day out on the bike today, legs hurt but I felt strong. Meals were as follows

Bfast: 40/45g Butter/Coconut oil b-coffee, 2.5 scrambled eggs with chicken, bacon and feta with added butter, olive oil and salt.

Stage 1: SingletrackFuel with choc milk as recovery.

Brunch: 1.5 scrambled eggs as above, droewors and 5g coconut oil.

Stage 2: Epic Pro, Gu, 10g coconut oil (put oil in an empty BG test strip bottle, you can fit 12g in) and choc milk as recovery.

Lunch: 1.5 scrambled eggs as above, droewors, fatty biltong and 10g coconut oil.

Stage 3: Epic Pro, Gu, 10g coconut oil.

Recovery: 2 pieces of boerewors (swapped the roll for extra boerewors :D) and lots of fatty biltong.

My carbo "loading" the day before was about 20g of complex carbs (spinach, lettuce, string beans and a little yellow pepper.)

So in A bunch I came 2nd, 2nd and 1st and took 1st overall. :thumbup:

As the day progressed I felt stronger and stronger while the other guys got weaker and weaker, so much so that I did between a third to a half of stages 3's pacing. Not knowing to what extent the carbs effected my riding though.

Awesome stuff...

Agree, but then I always refer people to the link below. If they still can't do LCHF after that, then I give up :)

http://www.dietdoctor.com/lchf

This is great.

Now I can read it and go 'yep, yep, ahum, right, yep'.

When I first read it I thought 'HOW CAN YOU HAVE BREAKFAST WITHOUT CARBS!!??'

Doesn't really take long to find this way of eating normal, and stuffing cereal etc down your throat abnormal... strange how things change.