Hit and Run in Bloemfontein

Vetseun

The company I work for has been involved for a while now assisting the community with food etc. We delivered there yesterday and that is when the guy told us about the incident, but he didn't have any details. Just said that he was arrested by police for an incident involving cyclists...

Wow, it's an eye opener each time I visit that place. If he gets jail time I doubt he will do more than a few months
  • Replies 200

Wow, it's an eye opener each time I visit that place. If he gets jail time I doubt he will do more than a few months

We were discussing that yesterday. I drive through the 'township' each day to work but seeing people of the same skin colour than you like the families living there hits a bit harder. The hardships and issues are similar but that community makes the pill a bit harder to swallow.

Guest Hollow Man

Myself, my Son and my good friend were on a training ride this afternoon.

We came off a gravel road onto a section of tarmac.

Riding single file, me at the front, my son behing me and my friend at the back.

I heard a vehicle approaching and warned the others.

Suddenly we were hit from behind by a bakkie.

My son came flying over my head.

My friend dissapeared, somehow the vehicle missed me.

The driver of the white Isuzu bakkie looked in his rear view mirror, by this time about 70 meters down the road, put foot down and chased away.

My son was lying in the road winded and groaning,

My buddy was lying in the veld lights out.

The paramedic arrived pretty fast.

My son is back home after a check up, bruised and grazed.

My friend is in hospital with a broken leg and ankle and a damaged damaged back, major cuts ans lacerations.

The drunken coward that hit us was missing.

I got a call from the police about an hour ago to take the damaged bikes to the police station.

While I was there, it came over the radio that the bakkie had been traced and the driver arrestedpost-16512-0-74456900-1384198678_thumb.jpgpost-16512-0-04281200-1384198706_thumb.jpgpost-16512-0-47205600-1384198777_thumb.jpg

What a seriously k*k experience; I can only imagine how traumatic this was, especially to have your son fly over your head. Very Sorry to hear this; I hope you all heal up as soon as possible. It's a relief that it wasn't worse.

Eish. Nee Man. Not lekker.

We were discussing that yesterday. I drive through the 'township' each day to work but seeing people of the same skin colour than you like the families living there hits a bit harder. The hardships and issues are similar but that community makes the pill a bit harder to swallow.

This video made me get involved earlier this year. There is a couple of pics of him ( the accused )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g28wpREQOkg&feature=player_detailpage

My humble opinion is that it does not matter what colour his skin is, or where he lives! He almost killed 3 cyclists, the book should be thrown at him and he should be in prison until his dying day! There is no excuse for almost taking another life!

I am really glad all survived the incident, my sympathy goes out to the Dad that had his son being wiped out, as a father myself I can understand and feel your pain!

My humble opinion is that it does not matter what colour his skin is, or where he lives! He almost killed 3 cyclists, the book should be thrown at him and he should be in prison until his dying day! There is no excuse for almost taking another life!

I am really glad all survived the incident, my sympathy goes out to the Dad that had his son being wiped out, as a father myself I can understand and feel your pain!

My humble opinion is that I agree with you completely. Apologies for discussing off-topic issues. We digressed as we know the area and individuals involved.

Also glad that Vetseun and all involved are ok-ish and hope that justice is done.

Hey Guys,

Been in meetings all day.

Until now the SAPD has not contacted me, or any of the other people involved.

When I managed to get the investigating officers number this morning, he did not even know that the bikes are at the police station. Under his nose.

He promised to call me back three times today. Still nothing.

The You Tube video is the first sight of the person.

Apparently the accused, who I feel nothing for was in court today.

Dunno how they build a case against somebody without statements from witnesses etc.

If this is an old toppie that does charity work, I don't care.

He hit us, he left the scene of the accident, he hid the car away.

No Excuses

Hey Guys,

Been in meetings all day.

Until now the SAPD has not contacted me, or any of the other people involved.

When I managed to get the investigating officers number this morning, he did not even know that the bikes are at the police station. Under his nose.

He promised to call me back three times today. Still nothing.

The You Tube video is the first sight of the person.

Apparently the accused, who I feel nothing for was in court today.

Dunno how they build a case against somebody without statements from witnesses etc.

If this is an old toppie that does charity work, I don't care.

He hit us, he left the scene of the accident, he hid the car away.

No Excuses

Don't you want to get some legal advice rather?

Wow, Vettes, this again is not good news. Glad your son and friend is ok. Hope this idiot gets what he deserve. Good luck, en Sterkte.

Glad you guys are alive Vettes, we are all taking such a chance riding daily. Don't ever think the driver is a caring person, YOU have to look out for yourself and that's why we ride like you BEHIND EACH OTHER and most other cyclists NEXT TO EACH OTHER. Cant stop wondering why these cyclists are looking to increase the risk of being hit by a car / truck.

Ok. The boere contacted me.The case is strong.

Patience is required.

If you feel strongly about the situation, as no doubt you do, and it appears to you that either the SAPS or the prosecutors or both are not going to pursue the matter adequately, you can request the State to issue a certificate nolle prosequi (certificate that the State does not intend to prosecute the Accused) and you can instruct counsel to prosecute the Accused privately. This has full criminal sanction.

My experience is that prosecutors and investigators tend to be excessively lenient towards elderly offenders. There is no particular haste so you can give the State time, but it may serve you to get the particulars of all witnesses and their detailed statements.

If you feel strongly about the situation, as no doubt you do, and it appears to you that either the SAPS or the prosecutors or both are not going to pursue the matter adequately, you can request the State to issue a certificate nolle prosequi (certificate that the State does not intend to prosecute the Accused) and you can instruct counsel to prosecute the Accused privately. This has full criminal sanction.

My experience is that prosecutors and investigators tend to be excessively lenient towards elderly offenders. There is no particular haste so you can give the State time, but it may serve you to get the particulars of all witnesses and their detailed statements.

Thanks Mate. There are lots of cops here in Bloem that cycle. Become good buddies over the years. They are determined to ensure a water tight case. Apparently this old man is not a stranger to the SAPD.

Apparently the driver is the 'head/leader' of the 'squatting' white community that lives behind the Estoire industrial area here in Bloem. One of the guys in the community told us that he is 86 years old....that coupled with a couple of beers (alleged possible drunk driver) and approaching dark is a perfect recipe for a disaster....

Sleg k@k